My love/hate relationship with P90x

Back in January on a cold, wintry night, Jake and I were talking about his upcoming second round with Kosama. I was fascinated by how much weight loss and muscle gain Jake made during his first round, that I wanted to try something to switch up my every-other day gym routine. I however, was not quite ready to commit to the $400 dollar program. I did however, have to face reality that I was no fitness buff and desperately needed to get out of my plateaued  gym rut I was stuck in. Jake, as amazing as he is,  causally suggested I try  P90x. My curiosity was piqued. I immediately went to Amazon.com and looked up the program. After I got over the initial shock of the $140 price, plus the cost of the equipment, I poured over the pages upon pages of reviews. Hook, line and sinker.  The program would be mine in less than 48 hours.

For the next two days I was filled with nervous anxiety. I had googled everything I possibly could about the program and continued to wonder what the heck I had gotten myself in to. I learned that P90x has 12 different work-outs that offer a wide variety of muscle confusion. Each day is outlined with a different workout and a different version of getting your butt kicked.

Jake and I went to Sports Authority and purchased the necessary items which included a couple different sizes of free weights, resistance bands (pull-up bar if you have a door frame) and a yoga mat. And then the DVD’s arrived. I opened the package as if I had just been send gold. That night I poured over the nutritional guide and workout book until I could read no more and set my alarm for an early wake up.

90 grueling days later, I had completed my first round. I did take Day 1, 30, 60 and 90 day comparison pictures (as advised) and can see where I gained some muscle and definition. It is actually pretty crazy to see some of the changes. I do have to say that this workout was hands down, by far, the best money investment I have ever made. I had a lot of blood (okay maybe just some gagging), sweat and tears go into this program. I will have to say that if you are looking for something to get you out of your exercise rut, I highly recommend P90x. It is worth the money and time that you put in to it.

I am still deciding if I am just addicted to working out, or truly insane, but 6 days ago I started my second round of P90x. My close friend recently mentioned she was ready to take the plunge and start the program. I was ecstatic!  It is so fun to have someone else work along side of you, making  fun of Tony, Dre, Pam the Blam and the rest of the P90x crew and feel your pain. I have also been fortunate enough to know a good friend of my husband’s who just completed his first month of the program. ( You can check out his P90x blog at    http://p90xerik.blogspot.com) .   P90x has such an amazing following and community that it is almost overwhelming that there is so much support out there.

With that said, 84 more days to go.  I must say, it is still just as challenging as my first round.  I encourage anyone and everyone who wants a new challenge to changing their body to try this amazing program. As Tony would say “Bring it”!

2 thoughts on “My love/hate relationship with P90x

  1. Pingback: The results are in | Joyful Girl

  2. Pingback: Giving Thanks | Joyful Girl

Leave a Reply

