So You Think You Can Dance

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s here! My year wait is finally over!  The most talked about and highly anticipated reality dance show has finally arrived!  There is simply no other show on television where you get to see  young, beautiful and talented dancers not only show off their gifts in their expertise of Ballroom, Jazz, Hip-Hop, Tap, Broadway, and Contemporary, but also get to work with AMAZING choreographers to grow in their dancing.  I continue to be impressed as year after year this show outshines the previous season. It almost seems impossible, and yet this is why I continue to come back.

My first experience of So You Think You Can Dance began back in 2006 when I was living in Denver, CO.   It was a hot summer evening and my three roommates and I were in the only room in the house that had a window air conditioning unit. It was also our “TV” room, and so while we were trying to stay cool during the summer heat, we were watching whatever happened to be on basic television.  I remember very clearly that I was sipping on a glass white wine (back in the day when I LOVED chardonnay) when all of a sudden the theme song came on. If you are familiar with the show you know exactly what song I am talking about.

My girlfriends and I were enthralled. We couldn’t keep our eyes off of the television. After the first episode, SYTYCD was already a HUGE  hit in our house and was soon coined as the “Dance, Dance” show. That summer we became faithful followers and enjoyed having a show that we all looked so forward to watching.

Unfortunately season 2 had come to an end before we knew it with Benji Schwimmer being the season’s winner. The show was promoting their Top 10 dancer’s tour and Denver just happened to be one of the stops along the way. I at the time however, was not in the financial position to purchase a ticket, so didn’t think much more about it.

Two months later when the show was only a distant memory, I recieved a phone call from my downstairs neighbor. He was a front desk conierge at one of the most exclusive hotels in downtown Denver. He called to tell me that there were two tickets in his hand to the SYTYCD tour that a guest never picked up. Thankfully I had talked SO much about the show that he called me asking me if I wanted the tickets. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! OF COURSE I DID!!! With the show starting in less than 3o minutes, I was able to grab one of my roomates and we were out the door.

My roommate and I rushed to the Denver Performing Arts Complex and made our way to our 7th row seats just as the show was about to begin. For the next two hours I was in a trance, watching the most popular routines from the season. I was in awe as I was able to see the most talked about routine of season 2.  Choreographer, Mia Michael’s  won an Emmy Award for Outstanding Choreography in 2007 for “The Calling” which was performed by Travis Wall and Heidi Groskreutz.

I should probably note that I  am in love with (read: obsessed with) everything about Mia Michaels. Her body, hair, smile, style and passion for what she does and what she teaches. I am sad to say though that she will not be on this year’s season due to her work on Rock of Ages. Mia Michael’s you will be missed.

Let’s fast forward to Season 7. I recently started dating my now husband Jake, and was overjoyed when I learned he also loved So You Think You Can Dance. That summer his roommate and my good friend Kelly, Jake and I were glued to the TV as we watched the best season yet unfold.

Season 7 had come and gone and the time had come for Season 8 to begin.  Jake and I were ecstatic and watched joyfully as the auditions began on May 26th. Four episodes in, the Top 20 dancers were announced!  The opening show was fantastic and again SYTYCD outdid themselves with outstanding solo and group performances.

I am excited for this season as Jake and I are avid fans and know that we will once again will be mesmerized  by such extraordinary talent. At this point I am rooting for Melanie Moore and Sasha Mallory. I don’t have any guys picked yet, but I will let you know!

If you haven’t seen the show, I  highly recommend you check it out! Wednesday and Thursday nights at 8/7 central.

To find out more, you can visit http://www.fox.com/dance/

Leave a Reply

