The results are in

In a previous post, My love/hate relationship with P90x, I talked about my first round P90x and how I got started. After completing my first round and taking a month break,  I am now finishing up my third week in my second round and wanted to share some more about this amazing workout regimen.

P90x has three phases which are 30 days each. Each phase has it’s own set of workouts and a nutritional plan.. I sadly didn’t follow the nutritional plan so didn’t see the maximum results I could have.

Day 1: Chest and Back

This workout consists of 12 different exercises that you go through twice.   The nice thing about this workout (and any other workout that you go through twice) is that if you used too light or too heavy weights the first run through, you have a chance to make those adjusts the second time. A huge theme in P90x is that Tony encourages you to keep track of all of reps and the weights you used and to take notes if necessary.I found this helpful in knowing what I did the weeks before, but also encouraging to see the progress made in my strength.

Day 2: Plyomterics “The mother of all workouts”

There are perhaps no words to describe the mix of emotions I have about this workout. Plyometrics, otherwise known as “jump training”, is a prime example of muscle confusion, which just so happens to be why P90x is so successful. The 30 different moves that last either 30 or 60 seconds have you jumping, squatting, lunching, leaping and balancing muscles you didn’t even know existed. The very first time I did plyo’s I had no idea what I was getting myself in to and had to pause several times and dry heave over the toilet. This workout is sure to get your heart rate up and can burn anywhere from 600-800 calories a session.  My second time through I am still working just as hard and still running to the bathroom.  But with that said, this is one of my favorite workouts.

Day 3: Shoulders and Arms “The glamour muscles”

Weight training is the theme of this work out. There are 15 exercises with again two intervals. For equipment, I use 10 lb and 8 lb weights, along with a chair. The thing I like about this workout is that it isn’t high intensity, but boy do you feel it. Every shower after this workout, it hurts to lift my arms to even wash my hair . As much as I complain, I secretly like the pain and want it every time.

Day 4: Yoga X

Ugh. Yoga. My least favorite workout. Now some of you are probably thinking, Yoga? Really, how hard can it be? And I would say, have you ever done Yoga X? This workout is no walk in the park. Aside from being the longest workout finishing up at 90 minutes, you are pushing yourself to do positions that are extremely difficult. The yoga sequences are through vinyasa’s and you do sun salutations in between each one.By the fifth vinyasa, your muslces are on fire and you think there is no way you can finish out the rest of the 80 minutes workout.

I should perhaps make a confession here that during the first round, I skipped Yoga X twice. I am not proud of myself about this, but there were just a couple of days where I couldn’t bring myself to do it. Second round; I am in my third week and today was Yoga X. Ugh. I didn’t do it last week and didn’t really want to do it today. So, I didn’t. I went on an hour long walk with my friend Kelly instead. Do I feel guilty, yes a little. But I am not going to beat myself up about it and just try to be more committed to doing it in the weeks to come.  It really is in the program for a reason and has a lot of good benefits.

Day 5: Legs and Back

Just when you are thinking how could you possible work your leg muscles more than you do in Plyometrics, you run into this crazy workout. In this routine you are doing a lot of squats, lunges and pulls ups. One of my favorite exercise in this workout is the calf muscle sequence. Towards the very end when you are dog tired, Tony has you do three different calve moves with weights. Yowweee!  You feel the burn in this one for sure. The first time I did this, the next morning I woke up and as soon as I put my  feet on the ground, I fell. No Joke. My calf muscles were beyond sore and made me want to curl up in bed and not walk at all. It took several days for my muscles to recover. Second time around, I still look forward to that burn.

Day 6: Kenpo X

I LOVE this workout. This basic kickboxing routine consists of several combinations of punching, kicking, blocking and jabs. I feel that this workout is a good way to utilize your whole body, but does require some learned coordination. I will say that even though I am in my second round, it still takes a couple of moves to get myself in sync with Tony and the gang.

Day 7: Hallelujah! Rest Day

P90x has a Stretch X video that you can follow along with, or you can simply take a day of rest. I have to once again confess that I have never even put the Stretch X video in and revel in my day of pure rest.

P90x has a a workout called Ab Ripper X. I prefer to call it; 15 minutes of Pure Hell. This is not an ab workout. This is a core workout, which is different. This workout is  done on Day 1, 3 and 6.  There are 11 different exercise, done each 25 times. I cry just about every time I realize I have to do this workout, and then some more during the workout. I have never in my life been pushed so hard to work my core muscles. I will say however, that in my second round, I am able to do all 11 of the moves and can do 20 out of the 25 reps. This is a huge increase from the first round of not being able to do all the moves and certainly not 20 of them at a time.

There are several things I like about P90x. You can do it in the comfort of your own home. Although there are a lot of upfront costs, it pays for itself in time with not only the progress you make, but not having to pay for a gym membership. In every video, Tony has three other people working out with him and they are each doing a slightly different version of the exercise. Tony is big on encouraging you to modify the exercises as you see fit and to continuously make assessments on adjusting your weights, focusing on the quality of the exercise and getting the most out of the program.

Some reviews complain that Tony is “cheesy” and says a lot of off the wall things. Well, they are correct, but that is what I love about him. I have a special place in my heart for Tony and truly enjoy his cheesy one liners. Since I know you are all dying to know what I am talking about, I thought I would share a few of them.

“I’m pushing my own personal pause button”

“Halfway done, party’s almost over, what a bummer”

“Poke your fingers into the sky, and scrape the backs of your hands down the wall”

” Tip of the day: Don’t smash your face”!

“Dreya is a dancer who flies through the air with the greatest of ease”

“This is not ab ripper 100 and 200, this is ab ripper 339”

“Like a terradactyl backing out of trouble…….Caaaaaaawww”

Now that I know you all want to rush out and purchase this little program, I would like to share my results with you.  I am sad to say that I did not keep track of my inches lost, but I did take pictures. Jake, amazing as he is, edited them and put them together in sequence for comparison.

Front Shot:

Side Shot:

Back Shot:

I will say that although the visual changes are small, I feel healthier and pretty dang proud of myself. After completing the first round I have more energy, balance and endurance. I am excited to see what the completion of round 2 will bring.

One thought on “The results are in

  1. Pingback: My Three Joys |

Leave a Reply

