7 days in…

Brr… it’s cold outside.  And it’s only Wednesday. Double Whammy.  My first thoughts waking up this morning were ” Klaus, why are you curled up like a ball sleeping on my neck”? And then a huge smile spread across my face realizing I just woke up at 4 am to “chat” with my husband via gmail chat. He is safe and having an amazing time, which was so wonderful to hear. Although time has been going by faster than I expected, my heart keeps wanting it to be next Thursday. But alas, it is only Wednesday and the day must move on.

I intended to update you all last night, but my friend Kelly came over to visit and well this got put on the back burner. So, without further ado, as I know you are all dying to know how my challenge has been going, here we go.

The meals since we last touched base was last Thursday.

Friday

 Breakfast: A bowl of Kashi Go Lean Crunch with almond milk. I LOVE Kashi Go Lean cereal and highly recommend it for anyone looking for a healthy yet, tasty and delicious cereal.

Lunch: I had some wheat thin crackers with slices of cheddar cheese and a couple of slices of roast beef. Blah.

Dinner: I pulled out some wide egg noodles that have been lurking in my cupboard for who knows how long, cut up some green bell pepper, red onion and leftover boiled chicken. I tossed that with some jarred spaghetti sauce and added some mozzerella cheese on top. In the oven for about 25 minutes and delish. I added a side of frozen naan bread with garlic butter.

Saturday

Breakfast: I made a delicious smoothie in my Kitchen Aid blender (1). My smoothie contained frozen blueberries, strawberries,  half a banana, Pina Colada yogurt (all I had left) and almond milk. Put it all in the blender and tad-ah!

Lunch:  I had a turkey hot dog and chips with french onion dip. Yummy.

Dinner:  I attended a wedding of my friend Molly (congratulations)!, so didn’t have to worry about dinner at home.

Sunday

Ugh. I cheated. There I said it. I was dreading telling you. But wait before you become super disappointed, I have a good reason. So Saturday night as I was driving home from my friend’s wedding,  I was CRAVING mexican food. Not sure why, because my belly was full from dinner, but just something inside of me said MEXICAN! MEXICAN!  Normally to satisfy that craving Jake and I would hit up Monterrey’s but since he is gone and I am doing this challenge, I had to think of something different.  In a conversation with my friend Kelly that evening, I mentioned my craving and she mentioned she had the same one and was going to make Chipotle burrito bowls the following day. Now that sounded really good. I did a quick mental inventory of what I had and well didn’t you know, I had everything except lime, rice and salsa.

So alas, that is how I cheated. Sunday afternoon I went to the grocery store and purchased the following:

2 limes, can of diced tomatoes, 1 mango, 10 A&E yogurts, white rice, and  2 kiwi’s. As a side note, I will say that I am VERY proud of myself for passing up the T-bone steaks that just happened to be a sample and on sale, and the bags of chips that were also on sale.

Breakfast: I had a delicious bowl of oatmeal with brown sugar and iced coffee

Lunch: I had found a snack container of applesauce hidden in my fridge and devoured that along with some sticks of celery and peanut butter. ( I don’t think I listed the celery previously as I forgot about it).

Dinner: Kelly told me that she uses the recipe from  Iowagirleats.com,which happens to be a food blog I follow, and remember seeing just the other day. Her burrito bowl was super easy and super delicious. I can tell you that I have tried a handful of her recipes and they are pretty dang tasty.

Monday and Tuesday 

Both days I had training at work and our breakfast and lunch was provided for us. Which I will tell you does not happen very often at all and so I took delight in eating some catered food.

Monday Dinner: Leftover pasta from Friday night.

Tuesday Dinner: One turkey hot dog and the rest of the french onion chip dip and chips.

And here we are to today. This morning I enjoyed a Key Lime yogurt and half a banana for breakfast. I then had another turkey hotdog and spinach, pesto and pea salad my friend Kelly made over the weekend and mmm… it was super good.

It’s now Wednesday night and I just got home from work. I am debating between tilapia and salad or the leftover burrito bowl. We shall see…

7 days in to the challenge and here are some thoughts I’ve had.

  1. We have a lot of food just around. I like to think that Jake and I are good about what we eat, but it becoming evident that we eat a lot of carbs and just some pretty random things.
  2. I haven’t been as creative as I thought I would be. I think it may be a combination of not cooking for anyone but myself and being so tired.
  3. I sure do miss finding new recipes to try and cannot wait til Jake gets back to do just that!

(1) If you are looking for a new blender, I HIGHLY recommend spending the money to purchase this wonderful appliance. Last November I purchased a brands spanking new silver Kitchen Aid blender from Kohls. Let me stop right there as that sentence is filled with so many great things. I LOVE Kohls and love to take advantage of their great deals. The listing price of the blender is 149.00. I am not sure if some of you know this, but I can be pretty frugal. Some may say cheap. I say frugal.  I went online and was able to find a coupon for 20% off and then free shipping and handling. I also had Kohl’s cash from pervious purchases and was able to buy it for $100. Pretty good steal if you ask me.

One thought on “7 days in…

Leave a Reply

