Some Summer Heat with Shrimp Scampi

Ahhh, I love summer. And I love refreshing summer drinks. I am not sure if you have heard of this little gem, but about a month ago Jake’s brother introduced it to us and it has quickly become one of our favorites.

In our new double old fashioned glasses, I filled it half full with Jeremiah Weed’s Sweet Tea and mixed with Simply Lemonade to make a refreshing summer drink. Just be careful because before you know it, the bottle is half gone because it tastes that good.

I must tell you that Jake and I rarely eat pasta… let alone twice in one week. My idea for dinner didn’t start off with a pasta dish this morning, but quickly evolved in to that as I wasn’t really feeling the baked buffalo shrimp recipe I planned on playing with tonight. As I gave it more thought, I wanted something refreshing and what isn’t more refreshing than a nice little white wine, butter, lemon and garlic sauce.

Shrimp Scampi

What you need:

  • 20 pre-cooked shrimp, frozen or fresh
  • 1/2 box of pasta (any kind will work) I used linguine
  • 1 medium to large size lemon
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 2 Tablespoons of butter
  • red pepper flakes
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • handful of spinach leaves

1. Set a large pot of water to boil. Remember, sprinkling some salt and adding a cover helps it boil a little faster. (Or at least that is what I tell myself)

2. Melt your butter over low heat. Once melted, add your red pepper flakes and minced garlic. Jake and I love spicy dishes, so I probably add more red pepper flakes than most would prefer.  The thing I love about cooking is that most dishes allow you to be creative and make adjustments. Feel free to add more or less red pepper flakes depending on your desire of heat.

3.  For the shrimp, I personally like to use pre-cooked shrimp that has been shelled and deveined. You may cook your shrimp with the tails on, however I find it much easier to take them off prior to cooking. Just pull those little suckers off. Once the tails are off, place shrimp in your sauté pan with the butter mixture. Cook your shrimp for a minute on each side.

4.  Once your shrimp has cooked for a minute on each side, add your spinach leaves, 1/4 cup white wine and the juice of one lemon. Let this mixture simmer for 3 or so minutes. Add your shrimp mixture to your pasta and let cook for another 5 minutes. Serve and enjoy.

Once again, what is a pasta dish without bread. Jake and I loved the focaccia bread I made on the 4th and so I decided to make it again, but with a couple of changes.

Jalapeno Cheddar Focaccia Bread

What you need:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2/3 cup warm milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey
  • 4 garlic cloves minced
  • small handful of basil leaves
  • 1 envelope of yeast
  • 2 Tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup jalapeno slices

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a large bowl, mix your flour and salt together

3. In smaller bowl, add yeast, honey and warm milk. Allow mixture to sit for 5 minutes to allow the yeast to proof.

4.  Once yeast is done proofing, add it to your dry ingredients. Mix until well incorporated. At this point add your oil, basil, and garlic.

5. Knead your dough for about 5-7 minutes

6. Place dough in a lightly oiled bowl and cover with damp paper towel. Let dough rise for 20 minutes.

7.  Roll dough out on a lightly floured surface until 1/2 thick. Place dough on a pizza stone or baking sheet. On top of your dough, coat with a thin layer of olive oil. This time instead of sprinkling with parmesan cheese, I used shredded cheddar cheese and jalapeno slices.

8. Bake in oven for 10 minutes, until a light golden brown.

Jake decided to help with dinner and made a nice olive oil blend with salt, freshly cracked pepper and shredded parmesan cheese.

Now time to finish watching this weeks SYTYCD and Big Brother!

2 thoughts on “Some Summer Heat with Shrimp Scampi

  1. Pingback: Dinner for Four |

  2. Pingback: My Three Joys |

Leave a Reply

