Chicken Fajitas

So the Super Mario World challenge continues. Jake and I cannot seem to break ourselves away from this game once we get started. It is becoming more like an obsession I am sad to say. Last night we told each other we would not start playing until after dinner as we both knew that if we started beforehand, dinner wouldn’t get made  and well, we were really excited for our Mexican night!

Any chance I get to either make or go out to eat Mexican, I am there. Jake and I were trying to decide what to make with this bag with a sweet bell peppers we purchased at Sam’s Club and chicken I had defrosted from the freezer. As we were tossing around ideas, chicken fajitas came up and not only did it make my stomach smile, but it was the perfect meal to to pair with my spanish rice.

I didn’t have any fajita seasoning on hand and what a perfect moment to try and make my own.  After doing a little research, I got a good idea of what needed to be in the seasoning and got to making my own.  I have to say it turned out really good and I know that I will never buy one from the store again!

Fajita Seasoning

  • 1 tablespoon corn starch
  • 2 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 chicken bouillon
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (or more for more heat)

Mix all spices together until well incorporated.

Chicken Fajitas

Filling:

  • 2 chicken breasts flattened**
  • 2 red, green, yellow bell peppers or a mix sliced (I used three of the baby bells)
  • 1/2 white onion sliced
  • 3 tablespoons fajita seasoning
  • 1/3 cup water
  • tortillas

1.  Slice your chicken into thin strips. Sprinkle a little of the fajita seasoning over chicken. Place chicken in a grill pan or skillet that has been sprayed with pan spray. Cook until half way done.

2.  At the chicken’s half way point of being cooked, add your peppers and onions to your pan. Cook chicken and peppers until the peppers start to soften. If cooking peppers in a grill pan, transfer to a deep skillet.
3. In skillet add 3 tablespoons of fajita seasoning and water. Cook on low-medium heat until the chicken and vegetables become coated and the sauce becomes thicker.
You can warm your tortillas in the microwave by wrapping them in a damp paper towel for 15 seconds.

Now this is the fun part! Place your fajita mix in your tortilla and add a combination of whatever toppings you would like. We chose lettuce, shredded pepper jack and cheddar cheese, chopped cilantro, sour cream, salsa verde and jalapeno slices.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the fresh flavors that come out of pico de gallo so of course had to have this in my fajita!

Pico de gallo

  • 1 tomato
  • 1/4 of red onion
  • 1/4 cup diced cilantro leaves
  • lime juice from half a lime
Pico de gallo can be used as a topping or a dip and adds that extra flavor to any dish! All you have to do is dice up the ingredients and mix together with lime juice. If you would like some heat you could use some jalapeno slices to the mix.

This dish was a SERIOUS explosion of flavors in my mouth. Jake and I could not get enough and ate more than was necessary… but that’s okay once in awhile 😉

**Flattening your chicken helps it cook more evenly and takes let time. To flatten your chicken simply place your chicken breasts in between two pieces of plastic wrap and flatten with a wooden rolling pin or the bottom of a glass or glass bowl.

Now I’m not sure about you, but what is a Mexican meal without spanish rice. I have this crazy obsession with the stuff and jump at any chance I get to make it.  I remember first making it years ago using the instructions my mother gave me.  Over the years I have worked on perfecting the recipe and I have to admit, it is better than the spanish rice you get in Mexican restaurants.

Spanish Rice

  • 1 cup white rice (not instant)
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1/4 cup of white onion diced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 chicken boullion
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 can Rotel

I personally like to use a rice cooker. Never going back. The rice comes out fluffy and delicious every time. If you do not have a rice cooker you can use the stove top method.**

1. The first and perhaps most critical step in making spanish rice is to brown the white rice in olive oil. As the rice starts to become brown, add your onion and garlic. You don’t want to add it too early as you don’t want the garlic and onion to burn. Once the onions have softened add rice to your rice cooker or your saucepan.

2. Add water and rotel and stir ingredients. Cook your rice per instructions to rice cooker or stove top method.

**Place your browned rice, the can of Rotel, and water in saucepan. Place lid on pan and bring water to a hard boil. Once rice is at the hard boil, turn to medium heat and let cook for another 20 minutes. Take rice off burner and let sit for another 5-10 minutes.

I know that although Jake and I vary on the spiciness of our dishes, we both enjoy a little bit of heat.

Do you like your foods spicy or more on the mild side?

One thought on “Chicken Fajitas

  1. Pingback: The Time Has Arrived…. |

Leave a Reply

