Egg and Potato Salad

One of my favorite purchases from Ikea was this lovely step stool.

Jake and I have absurdly high cabinets in our kitchen and have been in desperate need for a step stool since moving in. I haven’t been pleased with any I have seen thus far, therefore overjoyed when I saw this one at Ikea.

That stool is amazing. It helped me turn this:

In to this:

In all fairness to myself, I have organized this cabinet in the past, but things always landed on the bottom two shelves. The hope is that this stool will keep everything in it’s place.

Last week I had bought this 5 lb bag of red potatoes in plans of making some buttery, cheesy, oven baked potatoes. Unfortunately those plans were foiled when it became unbearable to even think about having the oven on in the house. I didn’t want these potatoes to go to waste, so what better dish to make than egg and potato salad.

Now, I have tried making potato salad in the years past, but have never been satisfied with the end results. Either the potatoes were too mushy, there was too much mustard, there wasn’t enough flavor… it was always something. I have made this recipe three different times experimenting with not only the amount of ingredients, but also the size of the ingredients. I finally feel good about what I have come up with.

Egg and Potato Salad

  • 5-6 red potatoes
  • 5 hard boiled eggs
  • 1 1/3 cup of mayo
  • 1/4 cup red onions
  • 4 kosher baby pickles
  • 1-2 tablespoon mustard
  • A squirt of ketchup
  • a couple of dashes of dried dill
  • salt and cracked pepper to taste

I have tried boiling potatoes in several different ways. After numerous trials and errors, I have determined that I prefer cooking my potatoes when they are diced to the size I want in my salad. I honestly wouldn’t mind keeping the peel on, but since Jake isn’t a fan, I have gotten used to taking the peel off. Once diced, add them to a large pot of water and let them boil for about 5-10 minutes. I like my potatoes a little more firm. The best way to tell if they are done is to see if a fork will slide off of them when poked. I tend to be overly cautious and take them out a little bit before they slide off that fork and let them rest after being trained. Those hot potatoes will continue to cook even after being drained.

At the same time as you are boiling the potatoes, get your eggs ready to boil. Place your eggs in a pan big enough where all of them will lay flat on the bottom. Cover with at least an inch or two of water. Cover. Let your eggs come to a hard boil.  Once to a hard boil, remain covered and remove from heat. Let pan sit for 12 minutes. Drain hot water and run cold water over eggs. This will help the eggs peel easier.

I prefer to make my egg and potato salad in two days. There are some people that say adding your wet ingredients to your potatoes and eggs intensifies the flavor. This may be true, however I prefer to let my eggs and potatoes cool in the fridge overnight. Alas, my prep for these were done last night.

Tonight, I peeled the eggs and diced them.

Then added them to my diced potatoes.

Then add the diced red onion and pickles.

In a separate bowl, mix mayo, mustard, dill, squirt of ketchup, salt and pepper.

Add your dressing in to dry ingredients and combine well. Ideally you would want to chill your potato salad for at least an hour to let the flavors blend.

I love this side dish because you can adjust the ingredients to you liking. I LOVE the burst of flavors and crunchiness that the red onion and pickles give to this salad. Feel free to do some experimenting from the amount you put in to the size of the ingredients. Every little change gives the salad a different taste.

It is simply too hot in Iowa to think about cooking anything that requires a lot of heat (or effort), thus me choosing to indulge (if you will) in my Jennie-O turkey hot dogs Franks.

A very simple, summery meal.

Now off to do some reading. My current book:

So far, so good. Although I am not sure Michael Pollan would approve of my Turkey Franks for dinner. :/

2 thoughts on “Egg and Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Fresh, Fresh, Fresh… Smoothie and Spring Rolls |

  2. Pingback: Recent Reads |

Leave a Reply

