Fresh, Fresh, Fresh… Smoothie and Spring Rolls

Ahhh, there is just something about summer’s in Iowa. I am not sure if it is the weather being so hot and sticky that when you walk outside you immediately feel like you should shower again, the rejoicing that the temperature of the day is only to be a high of 91 degrees or the simplicity of fresh food.

This morning I woke up early to get my daily dose of P90X with the YogaX workout and was feeling rather energized after the workout. Make no mistake, Tony Horton kicks your butt during YogaX and this yoga is no walk in the park.

I wasn’t feeling a super heavy breakfast and realized I haven’t made a smoothie in quite some time. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE smoothies, but I mainly make them in the mornings and most mornings I want my iced coffee or iced tea instead. Today it was going to be a smoothie day.

Fruit Smoothie

I have a little confession to make. I NEVER measure out my ingredients for smoothies, but did this morning, just so you get the idea of portion size. šŸ˜‰

What you need:

1/2 cup yogurt, any flavor will do. I used AE strawberry.

1/2 cup or about 7-8 frozen strawberries. The ones I used were fresh when I bought them. I didn’t use them all at the time, so I hulled them and froze them for this purpose.

1/4 cup of frozen blueberries. Those were bought frozen.

a pinch of flax seeds

1/4 cup milk

1/2 banana

This is the best part. You dump all of your ingredients in your blender and mix. In less than a minute you have the most delicious tasting smoothie!

Be creative with your smoothies. Mix up your yogurt flavors and fruit. The best thing about this recipe is that you don’t have to add ice since your fruit is frozen. If I have time and I remember, I will take out my fruit and let sit in the blender so it isn’t completely frozenĀ when I mix it up.

All day I had been drawing a blank on what to make for dinner tonight and had just resigned on the fact that I would eat leftovers. That is until I walked out of work with my friend Kristen and she told me she was making spring rolls for dinner. Bingo! I LOVE spring rolls and haven’t made then in well over 2 years. I was almost ashamed to admit that I had forgotten about them.

I knew I had everything at home but the rice paper and just my luck I was on the way to the store to buy ingredients to make french toast bake for my guests tomorrow morning.

Spring Rolls

This meal is so simple, it makes me smile. This is another meal were you can be creative with your ingredients. This is what I had on hand:

  • bell peppers
  • cucumber
  • cilantro
  • boiled chicken
  • lettuce

This fresh spring rolls are pretty easy to make, but a little messy to eat.

First step is to get a pan that is big enough to lay the rice paper flat.

Fill your pan halfway with warm water and let your rice paper soak for about ten seconds. Lay flat on a plate and start assembling your roll. I have provided you with pictures of how to wrap your rice paper.

Place ingredients in middle and tuck one side of rice paper under ingredients.

At one end, bring in your rice paper and let stick to tucked in side.

Do the same on the other side.

Finish rolling your rice paper until you have your finished roll.

Spicy-Garlic-Soy Dipping SauceĀ 

I have never been a fan of peanut dipping sauce, so I made my own version of spicy-garlic-soy sauce. It turned out pretty good if I do say so myself.

What you need:

  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce I used regular, next time I will go with the low sodium
  • 1 tablespoon of sesame oil
  • a couple red pepper flakes
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • a pinch of sugar
  • a little lime juice

Mix all of your ingredients together and viola.

I think Michael Pollan would be proud of my meals today.

What are you favorite super “fresh” meals that you enjoy to make?

2 thoughts on “Fresh, Fresh, Fresh… Smoothie and Spring Rolls

  1. Spring rolls are one of my all time favorite summer fresh meals. And they are so much easier than you’d think. Yours look delicious! I also love a nice, big, fresh salad in the summer.

Leave a Reply

