French Toast Bake for Friends

Michelle and Andy were in town! Hands down, they are my favorite married couple. I have known Michelle since our sophomore year in high school, and she stood by my side as my maid of honor at my wedding.  Although we live four hours away, we make sure to see each other often. Michelle’s husband Andy is simply amazing and they have known each other since their freshman year of college… that’s twelve years ago!

Michelle and Andy stayed here overnight on their way to Omaha and it was a perfect opportunity to make a French Toast Bake. About a year ago I made one for Jake and I and it was devastatingly disappointed. Not enough flavor, mushy and just blah. I honestly don’t remember what recipe I used and that’s probably a good thing, because it is time to create my own.

Overnight French Toast Bake

What you need:

8×8 baking dish

  • 1 loaf of french bread
  • 8 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teas vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk
  • couple of twists of cracked pepper

Directions:

Melt the butter in the microwave and pour in the bottom of the dish.

Cut the french bread into bite-size cubes. I used 3/4 of the french bread loaf. Set aside

In a large bowl mix brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cracked pepper. A handful at a time, place cubed bread in the mix and coat the pieces of bread. Place bread in buttered pan. Repeat until all of the bread is coated.

In medium bowl whisk eggs, milk and vanilla together. Pour mixture over bread. Be sure to go slow and coat all of the bread pieces.

Place a piece of foil over pan and place in refridgerator for at least 4 hours up to 24 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Take bake out of fridge and let it rest while the oven is preheating.

Take foil off and bake in oven for 35 minutes. If you feel that the bread pieces on top are getting too brown, feel free to place foil lightly on top of dish.

I baked the french toast bake for 35 minutes. The dish came out smelling and looking fabulous. 🙂  We poured maple syrup over it and dug in!

As the Michelle, Andy and I were enjoying our breakfast, I realized some changes I would like to make in the future. I could taste a wee bit too much of nutmeg, but not so overpowering that it was inedible. Also, I used too much liquid and created an egg-y bake at the bottom, but once again it was still pretty delicious.

Don’t get me wrong, this was still pretty tasty, but definitely a learning experience and some changes will need to be made for next time.

The changes I will make:

  • I think making it in the 8×8 pan was okay, but if I use the same amount of ingredients I will switch to a 13×9 pan.
  • If instead I keep the 8×8 pan, I will use 6 eggs instead of 8 and decrease the milk to just one cup. I would also use less bread and decrease the nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon.

Are there any recipes that you have made and found that you needed to make some adjustments to make it just that much more better?

2 thoughts on “French Toast Bake for Friends

  1. Pingback: My Three Joys |

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Pancakes…Fail |

Leave a Reply

