Bread So Good It Can Be Dessert

Operation Wedding Reception Dessert countdown continues. I have had this recipe hanging out in my folder for well over a month now… two months to be exact. As I was gathering some ideas of what to make for a dessert I kept looking to this recipe.  Alright, I get that it is a bread, but one that is as delicious as this one can totally qualify as a dessert. It is super easy to make and has the perfect amount of flavors.

Brown Butter Strawberry-Banana Bread

Slightly adapted from Joythebaker

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, making sure you have a rack in the middle.

Grease a 9 x 5 bread pan

  •  1/2 cup, or one stick of butter
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup strawberry yogurt (you can use plain)
  • 3-4 ripe mashed banana
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries, thawed and diced

Melt your butter in a small saucepan until it gets bubbly and foamy. Be sure to move your pan around so that the butter mixes around and doesn’t burn. After a minute of the butter bubbling, remove from heat and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, baking soda, salt and cinnamon

In a medium size bowl mash your bananas with potato masher or fork.

In a large bowl whisk eggs, vanilla and yogurt until well incorporated. Add mashed bananas. When the brown butter has cooled, add to mix being sure all are incorporated.

Add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients. Be sure to mix extremely well, being sure to not miss any flour pockets.

Add diced strawberries by folding in to batter with a spatula.

Pour batter into greased 9 by 5 inch greased bread pan

Bake in 350 degree oven for 50 -60 minutes. When checking to see if bread is done, insert a butter knife to the bottom. If knife comes out clean, the bread is done.

It is VERY important to allow bread to rest in the pan for at least 15-30 minutes before taking out to cut. If you do not, the bread will fall apart as you take out of pan.

Transfer to a wire rack, or cutting board to let cool completely before you cut this delicious slice of heaven.

This bread is perfect for freezing!

Jake and I spread a little yogurt butter on our slices and were very pleased with the mix of strawberry and banana flavors coming through!

 I am excited to say that I believe this bread is a contender for a place in our dessert line up! 

6 thoughts on “Bread So Good It Can Be Dessert

  1. Oh my gosh, just the title alone sounds delicious! I’ve never tried strawberry bread before but it looks super tasty! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

  2. Kat,
    Thanks for checking me out. I tell you that strawberry bread is pretty fantastic. I had a chance to check out your blog and there are some pretty good foods I already have scoped out to try… like the bacon wrapped tater tots and chicken nuggets on skewers. I am excited to see what other goodies you will blog about!

  3. Your bread like Bolu cake. Maybe I could try to make a cake with a little mix of your recipes. Strawberries, potatoes and bananas, I’ve never tried it in my Bolu. And thanks for sharing. ;D

  4. Pingback: Dinner for Four |

  5. Pingback: Operation Wedding Reception Dessert… Almond Bars |

Leave a Reply

