Who Knew? Red Wine

 Source

I have to admit that I love red wine. When I was younger and starting to drink wine (and not really appreciating anything about it) I would not touch red wine and only drink very sweet white wine.

As I grew older and listened to my father as he versed me in his amazing knowledge about wine, is when I fully started to appreciate the flavors red wine had to offer.

I got to thinking that I have heard randomly here and there tidbits about how good red wine can be for your health and decided to do a little internet researching.

Here are some highlights of what I found:

In moderation, red wine can be good for your heart. The antioxidants in the red wine are thought to help prevent heart disease by increasing your “good” cholesterol and protecting your arteries against damage.

Apparently there is this ingredient called resveratrol that is thought to help prevent damage to the blood vessels, reduce “bad” cholesterol and prevent blood clots. The resveratrol comes from the skin of the grapes. (Apparently you can get the same effects from eating and drinking red grape juices, but I like the idea of drinking the red wine better)

In spite of this good news, it is warned that everyone should drink alcohol in moderation. The daily recommendation for wine is considered  5 ounces for women and 10 ounces for men. *

As a side note, I am a huge fan of pinot noirs. Pinot noirs are light-bodied and have a heavy influence from fruits. I have been enjoying this wine for the past three years and it is always my “go-to” pinot noir. Jargon

Source

*Information from Mayoclinic.com

Does anyone have any “go-to” wines that they always have on hand? I would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

