My Three Joys

Wow, what a wonderful week this has been. Only to be followed by a jam packed weekend that has left us running full speed ahead.  Reflecting back on this week, it has been difficult for me to narrow it down to just three joys. I am so blessed with this life. But I will only allow myself to talk about the top three, so here we go! 🙂

Number One:

Helping my good friend Sally and Jeremy celebrate their wedding. Friday night Jake and I traveled to Iowa City to be witnesses to a hippie-style wedding ceremony and much love and enjoyment after. Although Sally and I grew up in the same hometown, we did not meet until we were both juniors in college and serving at Perkins. We have unfotunately lived in different cities for the majority of the time we have known each other, but have not let that get in the way of our friendship. Sally is always there for me and always bring me joy and a smile to my face when we connect.  The thing I love the most about Sally is her carefree, loving spirit and ability to have fun in just about everything she does. On her night, Sally was absolutely stunning in her wedding dress and having the time of her life. I was so blessed to be able to be a part of her day.

True to Jeremy and Sally fashion, they had a photo booth set up at their wedding, and well, Jake and I just couldn’t resist.

(Isn’t Jake a fabulous hand model)?

Number Two:

So I have this little addiction. It is called Starbucks. You may remember my short snippet on the topic here. I owe this downfall all to my husband. I used to stay far, far away from Starbucks and any drinks that had coffee and espresso in them.  Well that all quickly went out the window a few months after Jake and I met and now I am hooked. In my defense, I only allow myself a trip to Starbucks a couple of times a week. Don’t get me wrong, I would LOVE to go everyday, but I realize drains my pocketbook and only adds empty calories to my day. But the days that I do allow myself to go, my drink of choice is still the double-shot on ice with skim milk and vanilla syrup . This drink tastes so dang delicious and gets me through those rough mornings.

Number Three: 

Productivity Books Recommendations

Source

As I am sure most people are familiar with the old adage of when one chapter in life closes, a new one starts. Well for me this week was more like a book closing and being placed on a shelf and opening up a new one.  After three years at the Iowa Department of Human Services and eight years working in the realm of social work, I walked away last Thursday from a career I knew well to go back to the basics. Being a social worker has been my life for so many years, I really didn’t know if I would do anything else. Sure I had thought about going back to school to become a teacher, but I sure wasn’t making any steps in that direction. I wasn’t looking to change things any time soon, but when the opportunity presented itself to leave DHS and start a less stressful new job I had to jump on it. Back in April, a random conversation with a coworker about an empty position at Youth Emergency Shelter and Services had my mind wandering as to if now is the time to get out of the crazy, hectic work life I had been living. I was encouraged to contact my new supervisor and inquire about the empty position, so I did. After an interview and a couple of months of waiting to see if the postion could provide me with what I needed, I happily accepted the position as a Family Team Meeting Facilitator. I will still be working with DHS and the clientele, just in a different capacity. No more making safety assessments, no more late night home visits, no more weekend emergency phone calls, no more writing court reports, no more having clients yell at me and tell me what a terrible person I am for the job I do, no more stress. At least not that kind of stress.

Moving into this position will allow me to have more time at home where I can focus on other things other than my stress level and what things I am not getting done at work and provide me with the time to go back to graduate school part time. I could not be happier that things are lining up and that I have amazing people surrounding me giving me tons of encouragement to move forward in this life with the things that will continue to bring me joy.

What things brought you joy this week?

Leave a Reply

