My Three Joys

It’s hard to believe summer is over and we have moved into the fall month of September. It’s seems to me that every Monday morning I wake up and groan as I think about having to go back to work and not being at home. But to my amazement, the weeks always seem to fly by. This past week was once again a wonderful one and the weekend is shaping up to be the same!

Number One:

So here’s a little back story on this joy. When I lived in Colorado 4 years ago, I thought I wanted to go back to grad school to get my Masters in Social Work (MSW) degree. I studied hard and I took the  Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) test and did a good enough job to be accepted in to the Denver University MSW program. I remember getting the acceptance letter and being SO proud of myself and SO excited, but then knowing deep down that I wasn’t quite ready to go back to school. I declined the acceptance and focused on working.

A year later I decided I wanted to see if I could be a substitute teacher in the Denver area and took the required Praxis II: Elementary Education Content Test. My scores were good enough to proceed with being a substitue teacher, but I never pursued the rest of the paperwork, etc.

Fast forward to June 2009 when I had just moved to Des Moines, IA and started a new life back in my home state. I had been talking about going back to school to get my teaching degree for the past year or so and just couldn’t put myself back in school mode yet. I had just started my new job at DHS and didn’t want to give that up or go back part time. I did however invest some of my time in studying for the Praxis I Elementary Education Test. I don’t ever recall getting my test scores, but at the time didn’t think much about it because I just wasn’t ready to go back to school and didn’t need them.

Earlier this year when the opportunity presented itself to leave DHS and move into a job that was less stressful, had great flexibility and where my supervisor actually encouraged me to go back to school, I just couldn’t pass it up.

When I seriously started thinking about graduate school I promptly made an appointment and met with an advisor at Drake to get more information. I was hooked. I wanted to start school immediately. I knew that Drake required minimum scores from the Praxis I test and I was hopeful I could reclaim those scores and that they were high enough to pass.

Not having any information to give them other than my maiden name, date of birth and social security number, I wasn’t too hopeful. And I was right, they couldn’t find my scores. The lady on the phone told me that I would need my confirmation number in order for them to find them. I was so sad as I had no paperwork, and nothing that had that information on it. I convinced myself I would just have to take the test over again.

I began to study. I bought a Praxis practice test book, received tutoring help from Michelle and Jake’s coworker and had a couple of mini-meltdowns about how anxious I was about passing the math portion of the test. Three weeks into studying I came across an old planner of mine from 2009. I quickly flipped to July 21st and FOUND THE CONFIRMATION NUMBER!!! I was elated! I couldn’t believe my eyes!  Maybe, just maybe they would now be able to find my scores.

I called the Praxis center again and alas the scores were found! They couldn’t find them the first time because Lennon was spelled Lannon. Doh! I paid the $30 fee to have my scores read for me and braced myself to hear if I passed. And I did. All three sections! WHOOOHOOO! I was trying to contain myself as much as I was still at work. No more studying. A huge weight had been lifted off my shoulders. Now instead of studying this weekend, I can focus on filling out the application and get that sucker turned in. Grad school, here I come!

Number Two:

As I am still on my Praxis-passing high, I’m not sure I need any other joys for this week. But alas, they keep coming! This three day weekend couldn’t have come at a better time to remind me to slow down and enjoy spending time with loved ones. Friday night Jake and I spent our weekly “date night” at home with Jake preparing a delicious homemade dinner for us and curling up on the couch to watch a movie. Last night we were able to have dinner at Chicago’s Speakeasy with his family to celebrate a couple of birthdays. Tonight we are are off again to meet his family at Gusto Pizza.

Number Three:

If you follow me on twitter and/or Facebook, you may already know that I LOVE to clean. I may leave things messy (read: not always picking up my clothes off the floor) but I cannot stand to have a dirty home. I am not sure when this love started, but I honestly cannot remember a time when I didn’t want to wash the dishes, mow the lawn or vacuum. Having a two bedroom home with Jake has proved to be a challenge at times to kept things picked up, however no challenge to deep clean every couple of weeks.

Having some free time earlier in the week to get my routine “deep cleaning” done, left today open to go through old paperwork, plastic bins, our front closet, junk drawer in the kitchen, bathroom closet and basement to get rid of any unnecessary/unwanted items and make finding things a little bit easier. It is such a blessing to me that not only do I have a wonderful husband who can put up with my messiness and obsession for cleanliness AND pitch in when asked.

Well, it’s a gorgeous day outside and time for Jake and I to go enjoy it. I hope all of you are having a wonderful Labor day weekend!

What ways are you able to put this three day weekend to good use?

Leave a Reply

