Homemade Pizza

I don’t like to say that I am a picky eater, but lets face it, there are some things I like to eat and well, there are other things that I just don’t care for.

Example #1.

I grew up with every kid’s dream… my father owned a pizza restaurant. ElFredo Pizza. Have you heard of it? It’s a wonderful little restaurant on the west side of town in Sioux City, IA. Being spoiled by being able to eat pizza at least twice a week as a little kid and any time I was working or drove myself there as a teenager was amazing.  (As soon as I get my butt back to Sioux City there will for sure be a blog about that place for sure!)

As you can imagine, growing up on THE best pizza, I became a little snobbish when it came to other pizza places. Knowing that a lot of pizza joints don’t serve homemade, fresh dough, fresh sliced ingredients, real mozzarella cheese and a long standing “secret” sauce just doesn’t cut it for me. I love crave pizza that has wonderful dough texture, fresh ingredients and amazing flavors.

Living away from Sioux City since high school, I haven’ t had the luxury of having my favorite pizza every time I want pizza. I have to admit, there are a couple of places I am known for ordering pizza for delivery, but when able, I prefer to make it at home.

Homemade Pizza

Pizza Dough

Taken from Better Homes and Garden Cookbook

Ingredients:

  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 1/2 cups of flour (extra for rolling)

Directions:

In a small bowl, mix yeast and warm water together. Let it stand for at least 5 minutes until the yeast gets frothy.

In a large mixing bowl, combine egg, oil, and salt. Stir in the yeast mixture. Add 1-1/4 cups of the flour. With a wooden spoon, mix together. After this is combined well, add in as much of the remaining flour as you can.

On a lightly floured surface, knead dough for 6 to 8 minutes. I still haven’t mastered getting my dough to be completely smooth, but someday, oh someday I will.

Place dough in a lightly grease a large bowl and cover with a damp paper towel towel

Let dough rise in a warm place until double in size, about 30-45 minutes.

Once dough is done rising, punch it down in the bowl. Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and roll out into a circle.

It is very important to “dock” your pizza so that it doesn’t allow the dough to bubble up underneath your toppings. This can be done with a fork.

Using our homemade spaghetti sauce, we spooned it on the dough being sure to cover in a thin layer. Get creative with your toppings! I like mine with red onions, pepperoni and spinach leaves.

The best cheese for pizza is mozzarella cheese… fresh mozzarella cheese.

Jake and I do not have a pizza peel, so we used a plastic placemat. Worked just as well. Be sure to think ahead of how you are going to transfer your pizza to your baking pan as you don’t want to be stuck with an uncooked pizza and no way of getting it into your oven.

We baked our pizza on our new baking stone which is amazing for cooking pizza crusts to perfection. Bake pizza in a 400 degree pre-heated oven for 10-12 minutes.

Making homemade pizza is not only fun and tasty, but easy to get creative with. If you don’t feel up to making your own dough, most grocery stores offer pre-made dough. Our favorite dough when we aren’t making it is from Gateway Market.

What toppings do you like on your pizza? 

Leave a Reply

