My Three Joys

This week has been challenging. There is no sugar-coating this one. This past Wednesday I went on a nice little two-mile morning jog. On the last 1/2 mile, my ankle began to hurt and then sharp shooting pain ran up my leg. I unfortunately had to limp the rest of the way home. Since then, my ankle has been sore and a throbbing pain when too much weight is placed on it. This unfortunately does not bode well for my plans of running a 5k in October or my plans to start my third round of P90x this week, or doing any cardio exercises. R.I.C.E. has been my best friend for the past four days. I do hope and pray that this ankle sprain (which I have self-diagnosed it as) heals quickly. I have some fall weather running to enjoy!

But enough about what got me down this week and on to the joyful things!

Number One:

This morning I had the pleasure of teaching a KICK class at my church, Faith Lutheran. KICK stands for Kids in Christ’s Kingdom and is the church’s Sunday school. Having attended Sunday school for maybe a handful of times growing up, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. I was given a KICK box prepared with a Bible, a binder filled with helpful notes and tips and the lesson plan, as well as, the necessary items needed for this Sunday’s lesson plan. Last night I went through the box and was delighted to see what I would not only be teaching, but also learning about.

10:00 am service arrived and I was ready to go. My “shepherd” (teacher’s assistant) and I had only six students in our class, but still ready to teach about our lesson. These six 3rd graders had SO many wonderful questions after reading the chapter and had a good level of comprehension of what we were discussing. I truly enjoyed asking them questions, giving them feedback and praise and just being in their presence. Being around and teaching to children was exhilarating and gave me even more excitement to pursue my career as an elementary education teacher.

Number Two:

I finally filled out my graduate school application! Yipee!!! 🙂 After learning about my test scores being high enough to not have to take the test again, one would have thought I would have jumped to filling that bad boy out and getting it sent in the mail. For reasons unbeknownst to me, I tend to procrastinate and well, let’s just say it took me a couple of weeks to finally sit down and focus on getting everything filled out. It will be off in the mail tomorrow, along with a couple of phone calls to get my undergrad transcripts sent out.

Number Three: 

As most of you are aware, Klaus and Dietrich bring my so much joy and happiness. However, their litter pans leaving litter all over our laundry room floor do not. Now don’t get me wrong, I like to clean, but I do not like sweeping up the floor twice a day just so the litter doesn’t track into our kitchen and the rest of the house.

I have had my eye on a litter mat for the past couple of weeks, but haven’t been able to spend $35 dollars on it. Until yesterday. My friend Kelly and I were chatting online and often as we do, sending each other internet links about whatever we are discussing. She thankfully send me a link a mat that was similar to the one I was looking at, but it was on sale for only $27. SCORE! Heading to Petco became my number one priority on my errands list yesterday and the mat was purchased.

One day in and I have to say I am rather pleased with its ability to capture the litter coming off of Klausie and D-boy’s little paws. If you own cats and are annoyed with all of the litter tracking they are doing, I highly recommend investing in this mat!

Although this week had its mid-week rut, it is shaping up on a good note. It has been a gorgeous day spent being super lazy, watching football and soon outside grilling for dinner.

Happy Sunday!!

What things brought you joy this week? 

**On a side note, knowing that today is the 10th anniversary of 9-11, I have to say that my thoughts and prayers go out to those who lost a friend or family member whose life was lost and affected on that most tragic day. May God be with them and us all who live in this beautiful place we call America.

One thought on “My Three Joys

  1. Pingback: My Three Joys |

Leave a Reply

