Recent Reads

It has been awhile since I have written about what has been on my to-read bookshelf. In our house, there is a system. Jake and I have two bookshelves in our living room, one in our dining room and one in our bedroom. The bookshelf in our bedroom is our to-read bookshelf. All of the books placed on there are books that Jake and I plan to read. Some are ones that I have already read and Jake wants to read or vice versa. A few currently on my shelf include Lolita, A Clockwork Orange and Adderall Diaries.

I always seem to find new books and have a hard time reading the ones on my shelf. I have to admit I have been slacking a lot lately  and have not read as many books as I could be reading. I found out today I have a stress fracture in my left ankle, and have been advised to stay off it as much as possible. Although I am sad/frustrated/annoyed that I can’t work out, I will try to take advantage of this and read as many books as I can.

I am embarrassed to admit that I started reading In Defense of Food back in July  and have yet to finish it. Now don’t get me wrong, it is a good book, just not one I have an urgent want/need to finish reading. I always seem to stumble upon books that pique my interest a little bit more. I have about 4 chapters left and am bound and determined to finish it by next week.

Back in March Jake signed us up for this book club. Basically we get a signed, first edition of new releases. One of the books we received was Before I Go To Sleep. 

Now I should tell you that Jake likes his books to be in pristine condition. If we have a hardcover book, the preferred handling of the book is to take the dust jacket off, and find a book that matches its size. Place the cover over that book so as not to mis-shape the cover. Also, the books coming in through the book club have their own shelf and are not to be read books. Jake purchased a copy of this book on Amazon.com to read so the book club version remained untouched.  Anywho, I picked up the book and could not put it down. Such a wonderful mystery that keeps you wondering what the heck is going on with every page you turn. I finished this book in a good week flat. If you are looking for a little mystery and some suspense… this is a must read!

Along with Jake’s newest obsession with running and research into the sport, he came across   Born to Run and immediately ordered it.

Jake finished the book in five days and could not wait for me to read it so we could discuss the book. We were heading up to St. Paul and Jake bought the book on cd so that I could start to read it. Within minutes I was hooked. We didn’t finish the book on our road trip, but as soon as I got home Sunday night I picked up right where we left off.

Not only is Christopher McDougall a wonderful writer, but has a magical way of telling several stories within a story. Even if I wasn’t interested in running, I would find this book to be a fantastic read. You learn a lot of information  about the running culture and what people are capable of doing when they put their minds to it.

My most recent purchase came in the mail yesterday. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

This book caught my eye at a recent trip to Barnes and Noble. The cover was intriguing and reading the inside cover description had me sold. I immediately came home and ordered it on Amazon.com. I am five chapters in and so far, so good. It grabbed my attention right at the beginning, not to mention the odd pictures it includes throughout. I am excited to give my Halloween season a jump-start by reading this “creepy” story.

What books do you find yourself gravitating towards? Do you buy them at a retail chain book store, used bookstore or online?

I have always taken great pleasure in cozying up with a good murder mystery. I prefer to buy books used, and always at a used bookstore or online.

3 thoughts on “Recent Reads

  1. Well, I have to confess that last Christmas my husband gave me a Kindle & so now almost all the books I read come on there thru Amazon. I actually love my Kindle. I get the book instantaneously & it reads just like a book for the most part. I am currently reading a book called Unsigned which is about a suicide letter that comes to a house and the owners don’t know what to do with it. It is a mystery & I am enjoying the read. I also have begun reading memoirs because of needing scripts for speech & debate and just read Why Me? by Sarah Burton. I highly recommend it. My newest favorite series is by Christian author Janice Thompson called Weddings By Bella. The first book was titled Fools Rush In. It was a refreshing series & I look forward to the next one. My go-to favorite authors for many years now are Janet Evanovich & Sue Grafton. I am anxiously awaiting their releases in November. Lastly, because I work with teenagers, I have enjoyed the House of Night series by P.C. Cast & her daughter.

    • Cassie, I am glad to hear you love reading from the Kindle. I just can’t seem to get the want to read from a electronic device. I LOVE Sue Grafton and cannot wait for her next release either. Unsigned sounds like a super good mystery and I will have to check that one out. Too bad we don’t live in the same area to have a book club! Please continue to pass along any good reads that you come across.

  2. Pingback: My Three Joys |

Leave a Reply

