My Three Joys

Whoa, where did this week go? It seems like just yesterday I was telling you all about my litter mat, Drake application and teaching KICK. But alas, here we meet again. And P.S. I LOVE the litter mat. It has totally changed my life. (Or at least for as much as a litter mat can) 🙂

Number One:

Finally, fall has arrived. Fall is my FAVORITE season of the year and I always welcome its arrival. Who doesn’t love jeans, hoodies and flip-flops, curling up on the couch and watching football on Sundays, crock-pot meals (recipes to come), fall scented candles, windows open at night with blankets pulled up tight and Pumpkin Spice Lattes from Starbucks (give-away coming soon!)

Number Two:

I am always so thankful for new experiences and being able to learn something new. Yesterday I had the wonderful opportunity to go kayaking with another couple. Jake went for his first time last year and could not stop talking about how fun, adventurous, relaxing and breathtaking it was all in one. He was extremely adamant about us going out this summer. However with everyone’s busy schedule this summer we weren’t able to plan a day out until last weekend!

I will admit I was a little worried for several reasons. I didn’t know anything about kayaking and feet placement. I was worried about banging my fractured ankle and creating a bigger problem. Also, it was a high of upper 50’s yesterday and I was a wee bit worried about the cold weather. But nonetheless, we head up to Boone to meet up with The Nelson’s. After a quick lesson on kayaking we set off. I soon realized I had nothing to worry about. Your feet are rested on pegs, and no concerns about banging it up. The weather was a little chilly, but with plenty of layers on, I was perfect.

I AM HOOKED! I have already convinced myself that Jake and I need to invest in kayaks for next year. I was  little sad to hear that good ones range from $400-700, but the Nelson’s are super sweet and  offered for us to take their’s out anytime they are not using them. I can tell you that this is one of the most peaceful, serene activities I have ever participated in. Being in a kayak out on a river with a paddle, nature surrounding you and good conversation between kayak’s was such a good break from life. The arm workout is perfect and it was a good change in working out my upper body. I am truly blessed to have such wonderful people in my life who are so willing to teach me new things.

Number Three:

Last April Jake and I were walking through Pier 1 as we often do and I came across this little guy,

I fell in love with him and wanted him SO badly. I did not own a single Owl, but declared on that day that I would begin collecting owls. I however, could not shell out the $30 Pier 1 was asking. I thought about him on and off and was overjoyed when I opened up a box on my wedding day to see him!

Jake had also gotten me a couple of ceramic owls and an owl frame. I have been slowly building up my collection by adding a couple of owl stirrers, a metal owl and a set of owl salt and pepper shakers.

Last night Jake and I came across a super cute owl candle holder at Yankee candle and it was too darn cute to pass up!

I have never really collected anything in my life, and it is fun seeing what new owl items I can find. I LOVE seeing my owl’s around the house and smiling every time knowing my husband got me started in collecting these cute little guys.

What things brought you joy this week?

Do you collect anything? And if so, how did you get started?  

Leave a Reply

