My Three Joys

Happy Sunday! What a gorgeous, sunny, fall day today. Just when I think the wet, cold weather is here to stay, the sun comes out and it is refreshingly warm outside.

It seems as though time continues to pass by faster and faster with each week. Did you know that it is only 83 more days until Christmas? 83 days!!!! That is insane. I am going to try not to freak out about how fast the Christmas season is approaching and remember to focus on the week in front of me. With that being said, this past week was a mixture of ups and downs. Have you ever had one of those weeks where things just seemed off, but in reality there was nothing to pinpoint it on? That was my week. But alas, I can still reflect back on things that brought me joy.

Number One:

Ever since I can remember reading was high on my list of likes and I always enjoyed getting engrossed in a really good story. I remember getting into trouble when I was little for staying up way past my bedtime to read.

My friend Mandy recently told me about Room by Emma Donoghue.

(Source)

After living together for two and a half years and having numerous conversations about good reads, she knows me pretty well.  Mandy told me that this book was right up my alley and that I would have trouble putting it down.

Last weekend I had the pleasure of spending the weekend in St. Louis with my mother-in-law, Sarah. Like I, she too is an avid reader. While browsing through her books, I saw that she had Room. As soon and I got home, I quickly finished reading Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children and dug in to Room.  AMAZING. The first night I read over 100 pages and did not want to put it down. The second night, another 100 pages and finished it on the third day. Narrated by Jack, the five year old growing up in Room, gives such a powerful element to the story.   Room was shocking, inspiring, and mind-riveting. I have never read a book quiet like this before in my life. I cannot give enough praise for this book and to the author, Emma Donoghue for brining Jack and his mother’s world to me in such a powerful story. Getting lost in books makes me love them even more and puts me on the quest to find more that can do the same.

Number Two:

Finally after a month of soreness, my ankle is getting better! Shortly after starting to run I developed a minor stress fracture in my left ankle which prevented me from doing any exercising that would put pressure on that ankle. Now for me to stop working out was not an easy feat. I did a couple of P90x arm workouts here and there, but it just wasn’t the same. This past week I have been able to go on a couple of one mile walks and can feel that my ankle is healing.

In conjunction with my ankle healing, I recently joined Snap Fitness. Jake and I had been discussing the upcoming winter months and looking at joining a gym. Randomly enough, Groupon had a deal for three months at Snap Fitness for $19. Perfect timing. We purchased our Groupon deals and I went in on Saturday to get my pass. I am super excited to get back in to the gym and get back to business. Working out is in my top five joys of all time. The overall feeling working my body gives me and and knowing I am keeping my healthy body is so important to me.

Number Three:

(Source)

Yesterday Jake and I purchased a membership to Costco. I currently have a membership to Sams Club, thanks to my dad, however had  visited Costco with Michelle last month and was hooked.  Their selection of products was outstanding and it had such a good feel to the store. Jake and I went back and forth about when to purchase our membership. This weekend proved itself to be a good time to take that plunge.

Going up and down the aisles at Costco gave me a shopping high. There were SO many products there that we use and I immediately started making a list of things they had for future shopping trips.

Well, I hope you are all having a wonderful Sunday! It is time for me to get bundled up with my boys and enjoy a beautiful day of football. Oh and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I will stay in first place in my fantasy football league, going 4-0!

What did you do/experience this week that brought you joy? 

2 thoughts on “My Three Joys

  1. Pingback: Vegetable Bean Soup |

  2. Pingback: The Time Has Arrived…. |

Leave a Reply

