Overnight Oats

Happy Saturday!

It is really starting to feel like fall here in Iowa with the cool temperatures and being able to wear sweatshirts without getting too hot in them.

Last year my friend Kelly introduced me to a new way of eating oatmeal. By soaking oats in liquid overnight and eating them cold. I somehow forgot all about them this summer and ate my regular old warm oatmeal. After looking back at some of my saved recipes, I stumbled upon the overnight oats and immediately went to the kitchen to prep them for the next day. For two mornings in a row I have enjoyed my overnight oats. It seems kind of backwards that I would be enjoying this cold breakfast when the temperatures are dipping down, but it is SO good, I just can’t help myself.

Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal, I use quick oats
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
  • flax seeds
  • almond slivers
  • banana slices
  • honey

Directions:

Place oats, flax seeds, yogurt and milk into a bowl and give it a good stir. Place in the fridge overnight. In the morning add almond slivers, banana slices and a drizzle of honey. Enjoy!

**Yesterday morning I enjoyed my overnight oats with strawberries. This is another recipe you can be super creative with by adding different types of milk, yogurt, fruits and nuts!

Well, off I go to make pumpkin cheesecake (recipe coming this week) for our dinner guests this evening! Have a wonderful Saturday!

One thought on “Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: C is for Clothing, S is for Swap, P is for Party |

Leave a Reply

