The Time Has Arrived….

To make the first crock pot meal of the season.

Confession #1.

This meal was made at least a week ago when it was the beginning of crock pot season in Iowa… cold, wet and icky.

Well, I guess I should say it isn’t so much a meal as it is a main ingredient that I was able to use in three different dishes.

How it all started….

Way back in August I came across this super awesome deal at Hy-Vee and could not pass it up…

Did you catch that?!

$0.88 a pound for chicken breasts! Score.

In the freezer they went until crock pot season.

But don’t let the with ribs part scare you. They are super simple!

And make excellant shredded chicken for any chicken dish.

Shredded Chicken

Ingredients:

3-4 lbs Bone-in chicken breasts

Directions:

  1. De-skin and rinse chicken breasts with water.
  2. Place breasts in crock-pot.
  3. Sprinkle kosher salt and cracked pepper on each breast.
  4. Fill crock-pot half way with water.
  5. Set crock-pot on low and cook for 9-10 hours.
  6. Take chicken out of water and let cool on the cutting board.
  7. With a fork and a knife, flake chicken apart. The chicken should easily separate from the bones.
  8. Use immediately, store in the fridge or place in freezer for later use.

I had SO much chicken that that I put half of it in the freezer, used some for our dinner that evening and stored the rest in the fridge for our curry dish the following night. (coming so very soon I promise).

I have been making chicken enchiladas for about 7-8 years now. I remember my mother explaining how she made her enchiladas and I went off of that, making it my own over time.

Confession number #2:

This recipe is not my standard one. See, I have been teaching Jake all about the importance of comparing prices at the grocery store and buying items that are either generic or on sale. (With some exceptions mind you.)

Well, I received my first example that my teachings really are working.

Case in point:

I have never, ever used an enchilada sauce from a packet. I have always used the canned sauce.  Jake however, insisted that I try the packet version since it was half the cost of the canned version.

I admit, I cringed a little thinking of what disasters may occur, but told Jake I would give it a try. (It is only fair since I have gotten him to try so many of my versions of lesser priced food items).

So with the packet you add a can of tomato paste, water and set to boil. I have to admit, Jake proved me wrong. 🙂 This sauce was pretty good. But of course I had to add my own touches.

Fresh jalapenos and garlic of course.  

To the shredded chicken goes some onions.

And of course sauce to the chicken.

Confession #3:

Up until I met Jake, I never, ever used flour tortillas for enchiladas. To me, enchiladas are made with corn tortillas softened in hot oil. My beloved husband requested flour tortillas over corn and well, there are just some things we do for love.

**On a side note, Jake and I have been very conscientious of  trying not to purchase foods that contain high fructose corn syrup.  You would not believe how many tortilla brands have this ingredient in them.

Remember me telling you about our membership to Costco.  This block of cheese  was one of our first purchases and has been a godsend in our house.

Prepare your assembly line…

I am not a huge fan of excess bread,  so I just cut off the edges before placing in the baking dish.

Nothing better than melted cheese!

Topped with fresh cilantro…

mouth-watering,

ooey,

gooey,

delicious enchiladas!

Chicken Enchiladas

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet of Lawry’s Enchilada Sauce-prepared as packet directs
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • shredded chicken – amount varies
  • 10 flour tortillas
  • shredded cheddar cheese – amount varies
  • cilantro for topping

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Prepare enchilada sauce according to packet. Add diced jalapeno and minced garlic and mix well.
  3. Once sauce is done, coat bottom of a 13×9 inch baking dish with small amount of enchilada sauce. Set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl mix shredded chicken and diced onion together.
  5. To the chicken and onion mix, add enchilada sauce until chicken is covered.
  6. Set up assembly line with tortillas, bowl of chicken, shredded cheese and 13×9 pan laid out.
  7. Begin to assemble your enchilada’s by placing chicken mix and cheese inside each tortilla and then roll up. If you are like me and do not like the excess tortilla, cut off ends.
  8. Line rolled enchilada’s side by side in baking dish. Pour remaining sauce over enchiladas. Lightly cover with shredded cheese.
  9. Bake in oven for 40-45 minutes.
**I originally used a 8×11 inch pan and then a 8×8 pan due to my 13×9 inch pan being used. 

Serve with spanish rice. 

These enchiladas do not last long in our house and are perfect as leftovers!

Do you prefer your enchiladas with corn or flour tortillas?

6 thoughts on “The Time Has Arrived….

  1. I love green chile enchiladas and it is a MUST in our house that they be made with flour tortillas. If I go out to say Rubios, then I will get corn for my chicken tacos (but NOT my hubby, he prefers flour too). Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe!

  2. Pingback: Something New… |

  3. Pingback: Spoon Bread Has Met Its Match |

Leave a Reply

