Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Pancakes…Fail

Jake and I try to make breakfast on Saturday mornings.  Some mornings it is just eggs, bacon and Trader Joes’s hash browns. Or pancakes. On the mornings when I am feeling super productive, I will make cinnamon pull-apart bread, or even a french toast bake.

This Saturday morning I attempted to make pumpkin cinnamon roll pancakes.

I have made pumpkin pancakes in the past and they were super delicious.

Of course I have no idea what recipe I used, so I thought I would make my own.

I then  saw this recipe  for cinnamon roll pancakes and thought I would combine the two.

Somehow,

something was off.

They looked beautiful.

And the flavor was fantastic.

The most perfect combination.

But sadly, the texture of the pancakes was just a little too mushy.

I think my downfall was having too much liquid in the batter. Thinking back, I should have decreased the milk to one cup.

The other issue was the filling. It was too wet which made it come out too fast and super difficult to flip over.

One day though, I will conquer this recipe and perfect it.

The base for the pancake batter is from my standard pancake recipe from Michelle’s dad. They are fabulous!

Pumpkin Pancakes:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 6 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree

Cinnamon Filling:

  • 1/2 cup melted butter  
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar  
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
Cream Cheese Icing:

  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 2 ounces cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar  
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract  
 Directions:
  1. Turn oven on warm or low setting. Place cookie sheet in oven to warm.
  2. For the pancakes, combine the dry ingredients together. Add egg, milk, oil and pumpkin puree.
  3. In a medium bowl combine melted butter, cinnamon and sugar together. Pour into a zip baggie and set aside.
  4. In a microwave bowl, melt butter and cream cheese. Whisk in powdered sugar and vanilla extract. Set bowl aside.
  5. Heat large skillet. Using 3/4 measuring cup, pour pancake batter on to hot skillet. Let pancake cook for a minute before adding the filling. Cut one corner of the zip baggie and squeeze filling in a spiral starting in the middle of the pancake.
  6. Once pancake begins to bubble, carefully, but quickly, flip over pancake with a wide spatula. Let pancake cook for another 1 -2 minutes.
  7. Keep pancakes warm in oven.
  8. Once ready, spoon icing over pancakes.

Have you ever made something that tasted delicious, but the texture was off? 


Leave a Reply

