My Three Joys

Happy Sunday!

It always amazes me how fast the week flies by. Can you believe we have 55 days until Christmas?!?

The sadder part is that it seems like every year, each store you walk in to begins to advertise for the Christmas season earlier and earlier. Most stores I have been in this past week already have Christmas items out and advertising the season as if it were a couple of weeks away. Seeing Christmas decorations, winter time drinks/foods and even hearing Christmas music this early in the year just makes me sad. What happened to celebrating the season we are in? It seems like Fall just began. Now don’t get me wrong, I am looking forward to the Christmas season just as much as the next person, but I want to be able to enjoy Thanksgiving season.

Reflecting back on this week reminded to me to take the time to embrace the moments that are in front of us and the seasons we are in.

My Three Joys this week…

Number One: 

My friend Kristen and her husband John introduced their baby boy, Nile, into the world in early September. After numerous failed attempts to get together, we were  finally able to meet up this past Friday. Nile is such a precious, handsome little baby boy.  Kristen is perhaps one of the sweetest, most hilarious girls I know and a wonderful mother. After going three months without our daily chats, I was missing her voice and it was super good to catch up about work, life and of course Nile. Being able to hold and be with Nile just added icing on the cake. He is such a bright-eyed, calm and happy baby. I honestly cannot get over how dang cute he is and how easily he melted my heart.  This was coffee date was the perfect ending to my work week.

Number Two:

This week I was blessed to hear from three different readers about the meals they have made from my recipes. My green bell pepper mini-meatloaves, homemade spaghetti sauce with shells and cheese, and our recent Indian dishes were made by others and thoroughly enjoyed. It brings me so much joy to know that others are trying out some of my recipes and enjoying good food. Keep them coming!

Number Three:

Last night Jake’s youth group slept out under the stars at Reggie’s Sleepout to raise awareness to the homeless youth in Des Moines. The story of Reggie Kelsey is about a young man who aged out of the Child Welfare system and shortly after, took his own life in the Des Moines River. As a result of his death, the Youth and Shelter Services, INC. began to raise aware and funding to youth transition out of the welfare system and provide them with services to live on their own.

This event is held at Drake Stadium and runs from 4 pm until 7 am the following morning. As part of this event, the youth are encouraged to design and construct a box shelter to sleep in for the night.

This past Wednesday night I surprised Jake and youth group with milk and homemade cookies and joined in on the fun of creating their shelter for the evening. The youth began working on a replica of the first Apple computer named Lisa. This was their finished product.

The Senior High Youth Group worked hard on this shelter and I am so proud of their work!

How do you feel about our society and retail stores promoting Christmas early? What is a good timeframe for the Christmas season to begin?

Last year, Jake and I spent our first Christmas season together. I learned that he has a rule that Christmas music and celebrating the holiday season cannot begin until after Thanksgiving. I will admit it, this took me some time to get used to, but I survived. This year I am actually looking forward to staying Christmas free until Thanksgiving is over so that I can take joy in what is right in front of me.

Have a wonderful week!

4 thoughts on “My Three Joys

  1. I agree with Jake..If we are so anxious about he future and marketing of Christmas we miss the season.fall is also my favorite and I prefer to celebrate Christmas after Thanksgiving …..Love your blog……………..

Leave a Reply

