Thanksgiving Breakdown

And the countdown is officially here…

Okay, let’s be real, my countdown started last Thursday the moment I sat down to figure out what we would be serving for Thanksgiving.

(Source)

Now I have hosted Thanksgiving in the past, but there were some flaws in the whole process. I thought this time around I would make things a little bit easier on myself and create a timeline of what needed to happen, and when. I wanted to share this timeline with all of you in hopes others can be inspired and not feel so overwhelmed. I have to be honest, not only did this process help ease my fears, but also made me feel so grown up. 🙂

Thursday

  • Met with Whitney, sister-in-law and co-host to discuss the menu.

Friday

  • Date night. I decided I would take the night off and hit the pavement hard on Saturday. 🙂

Saturday

  • Spent some quality time in the morning going over bookmarked recipes and picking out the perfect ones.  I made notes on what recipes I would use as they were and which ones I would make some adjustments to.
  • Jake and I hit the town, stopping by Costco and Hy-Vee for our grocery needs.
  • When putting away said groceries, I organized what foods I could on the counter, grouping the items together according to the dishes.
  • The turkey was placed in the refridegrator to thaw.

Sunday

  • The kitchen was cleaned and I washed five a couple of loads of laundry.
  • Jake and I went over our game plan for the next few days.

Monday 

  • Washed laundry was folded and put away. (Okay, that is a lie, it is still on our guest bed, but I have extremely high hopes that they will get put away in the next couple of days, although I have not committed to any time of this getting done). My ongoing realization of this needing to be a New Year’s resolution is overwhelming.
  • DEEP CLEANING. Confession. I LOVE to clean. Always have. I admit I can be messy when it comes to my car and my clothing, but there is a HUGE difference between being messy and being dirty. There is just something about sweating your butt off and seeing your house sparkly-shiny clean. I am a little obsessed. PS. Jake is a rock star and went to town on the back and front stairways.

Tuesday

  • I had to make a pit-stop at Hy-Vee after work to pick up the forgotten graham crackers, black olives and pickles.
  • I then promptly began making pumpkin cheesecake.

  • Once the cheesecake was in the oven, I boiled the eggs for deviled eggs. Once cooled, they were placed in the fridge.
  • PS. My cheesecake didn’t crack! I put a bowl of water in the oven while baking and left the cheesecake in the oven with the door cracked while cooling.
  • Headed to Zombie Burger with the family and proceed to eat copious amounts of unhealthy food. I didn’t take any pictures, but can tell you that I sampled about six different items and they were all fantastic. I am now slurping on my Zombie Bride Wedding Cake Shake. Seriously. Amazing. I am sure Tony Horton would not be proud. I should also note I have now heard seven different Michael Jackson’s songs from the Cirque du Soleil The Immortal Tour soundtrack.  Yes, my husband is obsessed with MJ. I guess we all have our vices.

Wednesday

I will refer to this day as, Getting down to business. My evening plans will include:

  • Make the brine solution.
  • Thoroughly rinsing the turkey with clean water, cleaning out the cavity and prepping it for brining.
  • Prepare the green bean casserole and place in fridge.
  • Prepare the sweet potato casserole and place in fridge.
  • Make the dough for the rolls.
  • Jake has offered to clean the bathroom, our room and set up the table and chairs. (The actual setting of the table will occur right before dinner as we have two very curious kitties who cannot keep themselves off of our tables or counters no matter how many times they get sprayed with water).
  • Bring our kitchen back to order and hit the hay.

Thursday

7 am- Rise and Shine

  • Take the turkey out of the fridge and bring to room temperature. Rinse it of the brine solution.
  • Take out the dough and bring to room temperature.
  • P90x workout – Core Synergistics baby.

8 am

  • Cut items going in to turkey cavity and stuff the turkey.
  • Pre-heat the oven to 500 degrees.

9 am

  • Place the turkey in the oven to bake for 30 minutes.
  • Shower, get dressed.

9:30 am

  • Take foil off of the turkey and decrease the oven temperature to 350 degrees.
  • Begin rolling out dough for the rolls.

10:00 am

  • Prepare deviled eggs. Place in the fridge.

10:30 am 

  • Baste turkey.

11:30 am

  • Enjoy a glass of wine.
  • Set up sofa table with appetizer buffet.
  • Take casseroles out of fridge to allow to get to room temperature.
  • Check the turkey until it gets to the internal temperature of 170 degrees. Once there, take out of oven and let the turkey rest on carving board, covered with foil. I will be using a baking sheet with a cutting board placed inside as a carving.

12:30 pm

  • Place green bean and sweet potato casserole in the oven.
  • Have Jake set the table.
  • Begin to make gravy with turkey drippings.

1:15 pm

  • Bake rolls

1:30pm 

  • Sit down to eat dinner.
  • Devour all of the delicious food, cry because I ate WAY too much and proceed to take a nap.

I thankfully have the help of my sister-in-law who is making some of the dishes and other family members who will be bringing the appetizers to enjoy before dinner. I’m not sure I am ready to tackle everything.

Now I realize that things may not go according to plan, and I am sure I missed a couple of things in this breakdown, but it helps me to have things written out so that I don’t miss a beat.

Well, time for me to enjoy an episode our new favorite show before getting some shut-eye.

Homeland

Have you seen it? If you haven’t, you are missing out. One of the best shows on TV right now, hands down.

What are your Thanksgiving plans?

One thought on “Thanksgiving Breakdown

  1. Pingback: What I am Thankful For |

Leave a Reply

