What I am Thankful For

It’s hard to believe that the Bouma Family Thanksgiving dinner was here and is now gone.  Even though I was unable to spend the day with my immediate family, it was wonderful being able to spend it with my in-laws.

This day came and went and I have to say that I was able to stay fairly close to my schedule . The brined turkey was a HUGE success and I could not imagine making a turkey any other way. All of the other fixin’s were equally delicious and I swear I ate at least two days worth of calories. Whoops.

As the day is coming to an end with a full belly and exhausted body, I cannot help but reflect back on the past year and all of the things I am thankful for.

True Story. In February 2010 as I was getting ready to celebrate my 30th birthday and feeling rather down about where life was headed,  an acquaintance of mine told me that the best year in her life was her 30th year. I scoffed at that thought and boldly stated that there was no way my 30th year was going to be the best year of my life.

How wrong I was.

I think back to that conversation all the time and there are no words to express how grateful I am as to how wrong I was. This year held so many wonderful experiences it is hard to believe this is my life.

Marrying Jake was truly the biggest joy in my 30th year and I am so thankful for his intellect,

amazing talent,

playful spirit,

determination,

creativity,

faith and strong heart.

He alone makes me want to become and even better person.

Although my mother, father and brother live in three different states, I am extremely thankful for the relationship I have with them.

For my mother who has the biggest heart of anyone I know, who is always there to listen and my biggest fan.

For my father who has instilled so much independence, backbone and strength in me that I would not be the person I am today without him.

And for my amazing brother who has shown me that hard work, determination and a positive attitude can get you what you want in life.

 

I am so very thankful for my best friend, Michelle, who has been there me through the very rough times as well as the best moments a person could have. Her kind heart, support and encouragement is all that a friend could ask for. I am so thankful that we both make it a priority to keep in regular contact and see each other as often as possible.  I am also very thankful for her family who has also become my family.

And of course for Dietrich who helped me fall in love with cats all over agin and Klaus for his curiosity, playfulness and ability to make my heart melt.

I am thankful for rich experiences I have had in life and the wonderful friends I have been able to share them with.

I am thankful for having a job I enjoy, and the opportunity to go back to school next year.

For my warm home that always has food on it’s table.

For my ability to share pieces of my life with all of you and that you keep coming back for more.

This list could go on and on as I am always remembering what I am thankful for in this life.

What things are you thankful for this holiday season?

One thought on “What I am Thankful For

Leave a Reply

