Toffee Bit Cookies

Source

December 1st! Can you believe it? Still no significant amounts of snow on the ground yet, but the light snow dusting sure was a beautiful sight after work today. I am overjoyed that the Christmas Season is officially here and that I can begin to try not to overindulge  in all the wonderful baked goodies I will be trying not to be making and trying not to enjoying from others.

As much as I love working out and rocking P90x, I have to be realistic in knowing that I cannot stay away from sweet treats altogether. Especially during Christmas! So, I will allow myself to enjoy them in moderation.

In the month of December I will be posting five different cookie recipes, one for each week of the month.  I cannot wait to share some of my long-time favorites, but also try my hand at a couple of new ones!

Jake’s first request was for a toffee cookie as he has grown quite fond of the ones at Panera Bread.

Toffee Bit Cookies

Slightly adapted from Lovin’ From the Oven

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 cups Heath English Toffee Bits

Directions

  1. In a medium-sized bowl, mix flour, salt and baking soda together. Set aside
  2. Using an electric mixer and in a large bowl, beat softened butter until fluffy. Slowly add the sugar until fluffy.
  3. Beat in the eggs, one at a time and then add the vanilla.
  4. Using a wooden spoon, add the flour mix half a cup at a time.
  5. Mix in toffee bits.
  6. Cover bowl and allow cookie dough to chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour.
  7. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Meanwhile, spoon dough into 1-inch rounded balls onto greased cookie sheet. I use a Silpat baking mat which is a must have if you enjoy baking.
  8. Bake cookies in oven for 10-12 minutes. Allow cookies to cool on cookie sheet prior to transferring them to wax paper or cooling rack.

Dip in a glass of cold milk nog and enjoy!

Although these cookies were absolutely mouth-watering delicious, I was a little disappointed that they were not fluffy like Kim’s from Lovin’ From the Oven. Her’s were simply gorgeous.  I realized after the cookies were out of the oven  that I didn’t beat the butter separately from the sugar and that the eggs were cold when I added them. Note to self: Read directions at least twice prior to making recipe. 🙂

What holiday sweet treats are you looking forward to the most this year?

2 thoughts on “Toffee Bit Cookies

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies |

  2. Pingback: Here we go… January Goals |

Leave a Reply

