Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies

I am happy to report that for two days in a row now I have been able to get my butt out of bed to work out. Whoohoo!!!! My success can solely be attributed to reminding myself of how I felt on Tuesday when I had to go through the whole day feeling blah and knowing I had to work out when I got home. It worked like a charm.  And good thing, I was beginning to worry that my rut was going to last all week.

And this is no time to fall off my workout regimen. I have to off-set all of my cookie eating somehow. 🙂

Now, I wasn’t 100% sure what my second batch of cookies for this month was going to be, but when my friend Kelly shared this recipe, I looked no further. Jake and I absolutely love cinnamon rolls and this just seemed too good to be true. So our course there was no question about it.

The next night I set to work.

And trust me when I tell you, the work is well worth the reward.

First you want to be sure and cream the sugar and butter together.

It is important to have a nice, fluffy texture.

Add the eggs,

vanilla,

and my new favorite ingredient, greek yogurt.

Blend together well.

Slowly add the flour, a couple of spoonfuls at a time.

Until a nice dough is formed.

Wrap dough in plastic warp and place in the fridge to chill.

Once chilled, cut the dough in half,

and roll out onto a floured surface. It’s okay if it gets sticky, just add a little more flour.

Spread a nice layer of butter on the dough.

Then sprinkle with brown sugar,

and cinnamon.

Roll the dough up, just like you would if you were making cinnamon rolls.

Then slice with my secret weapon… dental floss. I first tried a pizza cutter, but it wasn’t producing a clean cut.

Beautiful.

Place cookies on a baking sheet and into the oven they go.

Until they get fluffy,

puffy

and delicious.

Now for the best part.

Combine all of the ingredients and spoon the frosting on to the cookies.

There is no exaggeration when I tell you these cookies are best when served after being in the fridge for a couple of hours and with a glass of ice cold milk. 

Heavenly Bliss.

Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies

Slightly adapted from Picky Palate

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Filling

  • 6 Tablespoons butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • Cinnamon

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, cream sugar and butter together with an electric mixer.
  2. Add eggs, vanilla and greek yogurt. Combine well with electric mixer.
  3. Add flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. When the dough become too tough to mix with the electric mixer, mix with wooden spoon.
  4. Place dough in plastic wrap and place in the fridge for at least two hours to chill.
  5. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.
  6. Once chilled, cut the dough in half.
  7. Using a rolling pin, roll dough out on floured surface. Spread softened butter over dough. Sprinkle with half of the brown sugar and cinnamon.
  8. Starting on the longest side, roll dough up into a log. Cut into 1/2 inch slices using dental floss.
  9. Place on baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Repeat with other half of dough.
  10. Let cookies cool on cookie sheet before transferring them to wax paper or a wire rack to finish cooking.

While cookies are baking, prepare the frosting. 

Frosting

  • 4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 5-6 Tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

  1. Combine cream cheese and powdered sugar. Add 3 tablespoons of milk. Add more milk as needed to thin out.
  2. Spoon frosting over cookies.
  3. Place cookies in an air tight container and store in the fridge.
 

**The biggest changes I made from the original recipe was to cut the recipe in half and substitute greek yogurt for the sour cream. I guarantee you no one would ever know they were made with something that is actually good for you!

Makes 30 cookies.

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies

  1. How on earth did I miss the cinnamon roll cookie recipie??? Sounds absolutely amazing – and easy.
    Can’t wait to try it out! Thanks Libby

Leave a Reply

