Mini Peanut Butter Blossoms

I’m not sure about you, but I love Christmas music. Not the songs you hear on the local radio station that have the same 15 songs on repeat throughout the day, but the ones that are classic songs, sung in different way. Like A capella. I will be the first to admit that before I met Jake, I was not a fan of A capella (or much music outside of Dave Matthews Band). But now that I have been exposed to Jake’s ridiculously enormous collection of various styles of music, my love and appreciation for music has grown tenfold.

Last Christmas, Jake introduced me to The Blenders and Take 6. I played their Christmas cd’s non-stop. This year I learned about Straight No Chaser from Pandora radio and I cannot get enough. Their 2009 Christmas Cheers cd is absolutely breathtakingly beautiful.

The Christmas A cappella radio station has been getting some good play time this month, especially when I am baking away in the kitchen making  this month’s weekly cookies.

This week I chose an oldie, but goodie.

I knew I wanted to make them as soon as I saw these little guys on sale at Hy-Vee last month.

Little baby, mini kisses.

I just couldn’t resist. So stinking cute. And delicious, to boot.

I immediately knew I wanted to add them to peanut butter cookies. Because what honestly is Christmas without peanut butter blossoms?

I am a however, a little ashamed to actually admit how many of these cookies I have eaten these past few days. I had every intention of sending a container of them along with Jake to deliver to friends, but somehow they never made it out of our fridge. I am totally and completely blaming Jake for this one. He cannot get enough.

Case in point:

But who can blame him. When something is this good, you gotta roll with it.

My secret weapons…

A mini muffin tin.

And under baking the cookies… just a teensy little bit.

Perfection.

Soft and chewy in the center. Just how they were meant to be.

Mini Peanut Butter Blossoms

Slightly adapted from Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • sugar for coating

Directions

  1. In a large mixing bowl, cream shortening and butter together with an electric mixer.
  2. Add both sugars, baking powder and baking soda. Beat until well combined.
  3. Beat in egg, milk and vanilla until well combined. Be sure to continuously scrap the side of the bowl.
  4. Add 1/2 cup of the flour with the electric mixer.
  5. Stir in the remaining flour until combined well.
  6. Cover bowl and allow cookie dough in the fridge for an hour.
  7. Once dough is chilled, pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees and spray a mini muffin with pan coating.
  8. Roll dough into 3/4 inch balls. Roll each ball in sugar.
  9. Place each ball into the muffin tins.
  10. Bake in the oven for 9 minutes. Just 9, not any longer.
  11. Take muffin tin out of the oven and place on a cooling rack. Press one or three mini Hershey kisses into the center of the cookies.
  12. Allow cookies to cool in the pan for at least five minutes.
  13. Transfer to a cooling rack to allow to cool completely.
  14. Store in an air-tight container.

These cookies are best served when chilled and straight from the fridge and with a glass of milk. Mmmmm.

What is your favorite Christmas album or group? 

5 thoughts on “Mini Peanut Butter Blossoms

  1. Tell me, why did you choose a mini-muffin tin over a regular cookie sheet? I love PB Blossoms too and can’t imagine Christmas without them! I also love Take 6! My new favorite a capella group is Pentatonix though!

    • Honestly, because I wanted them a little bit smaller and thicker. Not so flat. It works really well with the baby mini kisses, although I am sure it would work with the bigger ones too.

Leave a Reply

