Tzatziki

Four days until Christmas…

Whoohoo! I cannot believe there are only four more days left! Iowa is still going strong with no significant amounts of snow on the ground and it doesn’t look promising for us to have a white Christmas, but no complaints here. I rather enjoy the nicer weather we have been having this winter thus far.

Did anyone catch “A Very Gilly Christmas” on NBC last night? Oh My Word… I was cracking up. I took a break in between baking a boat load of cookies and sat down to the tube. Saturday Night Live had Christmas skits from years past, with the best of the best like Dan Aykroyd, Will Farrell and Jimmy Fallon playing.  H.I.L.A.R.O.U.S.

Well, I’m not sure about you, but Jake and I have been trotting to different Christmas parties where an appetizer is required. I have a simple and delicious dip that is perfect for a party (or just to eat at home) and isn’t that bad for the waistline… which just gives me more reason to eat more Christmas goodies ;).

My obsession with greek yogurt lately actually began with this recipe. Last month Jake and I were on our bi-monthly trip to Costco and they had tzatziki out to sample. I have never had it as a dip before, only on gyros. Yes please. I was curious if I could make one similar instead of buying it so I picked up the ingredients to give it a try.

Homemade Tzatziki

Based on recipe from about.com

Ingredients

  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, diced
  • 2 tablespoons fresh dill
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup greek yogurt (I used Fage)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Peel cucumber. Slice lengthwise in half. Scrap out seeds with a spoon. Dice cucumber into very small pieces.
  2. Dice garlic cloves and fresh dill.
  3. Whisk olive oil, vinegar, greek yogurt, cucumbers, garlic, dill, lemon juice, salt and pepper.
  4. Allow dip to chill in the fridge for at least a couple of hours before serving.

Serve with crackers of your choice. This is one easy dip that packs on fresh flavors! 

 What holiday appetizers and dips do you look forward to eating at holiday parties? 

Leave a Reply

