Sugar Cookies

Or rather a more appropriate name for these cookies would be crack cookies. (Commonly known as Fairy Drop Cookies). I am not exagerating when I tell you these sugar cookies are melt-in-your-mouth-so-stinking-good-you-cannot-stop-until-you-have-at-least-five. Or seven. Please no judging.

Oh and I should add that these are in no way good for you. Hence the crack name.

If you are like me though, you are getting to the end of your rope and cannot wait until there are no more cookies being made or within easy reach of you. While I love baking and eating all of these Christmas goodies, my body just cannot handle much more.

This will be my last batch I share with you this month as I just do not have it in me to make another.

But you will not be disappointed with this recipe. It is THAT good.

I was introduced to this recipe last year by my good friend Jayna B. when she brought them to our NHS girls weekend. Jayna, Michelle, Mandy and I each got our own container and by the end of the weekend, I am fairly certain there were not any left. Again, no judging. 😉

This recipe is super simple and originally calls for the dough to be rolled into balls and then pressed down with a glass. But when I got cookie cutters from my mom in the mail last week, I had to test them out. I thought about using another recipe, but honestly could not stop thinking about these cookies, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

And surprisingly it worked!

Using softened butter,  powdered sugar

granulated sugar,

and oil,

cream together. I warned you these are not good for you.  😉

Add the eggs, one at a time.

Add your secert weapons, vanilla,

and almond extract. My favorite!

Set aside.

In a seperate bowl combine flour, baking soda and cream of tarter.

(PS. this is where you begin to see how messy I can be when baking.)

Add one cup of the flour mixture at a time until you have a nice dough.

Wrap in plastic and allow the dough to chill in the fridge for at least an hour.

Now for the fun part.

Roll out the dough using powdered sugar to help with the stickiness.

And cut away!

This guy had a little injury and was just too cute not to take a picture!

Once on the silpat, into the oven they go…

Until they come out a nice light, golden color.

And puffy!

Now for the frosting.

I realized a couple cookies in that these colors looked more Easter-ish than Christmas-y, so I added some more food coloring to adjust.

And went to town.

I attempted to be creative, but it wasn’t working out so well.

I laugh ever time I see this guy.

These were fairly easy to make and although probably not the most ideal cookie cutter recipe out there, still worked out just fine and tasted amazing. I ended up using 1/4 of the dough for the regular drop cookies, which was perfect.

There were SO many cookies and they were just as good as I remembered. Trust me on this one. I had at least three as soon as they were frosted and may or may not have had one for breakfast the next morning. Once again, no judging. It’s completely normal, right?

After cooling overnight, I packaged a plate up for friends and then the rest were sent with Jake to his youth group’s Christmas party.

Okay, maybe not all of them, because I had to save a couple for Jake and I.

I honestly have no clue where the original recipe came from but I am extremely grateful for whomever created it. There are numerous variations floating around on the internet. This is the recipe I recieved from Jayna, with a couple of small changes.

Sugar Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of butter, softened
  • 1 cup of powdered sugar
  • 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil ( I used canola)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 teaspoons almond extract
  • 4 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tarter
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Cream butter, sugars and oil together with an electric mixer.
  2. Add eggs, one at a time.
  3. Add vanilla and almond extract. Combine ingredients until mixed well.
  4. In a seperate bowl combine flour, baking soda, cream of tarter and salt together.
  5. Taking one cup at a time, add flour mixture into the wet mixture. At some point the dough will be too much for the electric mixer to handle, so switch to a wooden spoon.
  6. Wrap dough in plastic wrap and allow to chill in the fridge for at least an hour to chill.
  7. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  8. Once chilled, roll dough out onto a powdered sugar counter or cookie sheet and cut into desired shapes.
  9. This dough is very sticky, so using a spatula to scrap the cookie shapes up to place on the cookie sheet was necessary.
  10. Bake in oven for nine minutes.
  11. Allow cookies to cool on the cookie sheet for at least five minutes before transferring to a wire rack or wax paper.
  12. When cookies are completely cooled, time to frost. Or just eat.

Almond Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

  • 8 ounce cream cheese, softened
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 teaspoons almond extract
  • 2 tablespoons milk (more or less depending on desired consistency)
  • food coloring

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients, adding more or less milk depending on desired consistency.
  2. If using food coloring, I seperated the frosting into two plastic containers and then added food coloring. This makes the clean up super easy in that I just throw away the containers when done using.

Even though looking at another sweet treat and cookie recipe may make you groan a little, I promise you that you will be doing yourself a favor if you put this one in your recipe box and save for a rainy day. 

Are you getting sick of all the holiday goodies?

I don’t know about you, but I am looking forward to having a month full of no baking (part of my 2012 goals, more info to come soon) and getting back on track with eating a little bit healthier.

2 thoughts on “Sugar Cookies

  1. Fairy Drops aka Crack Cookies–great memories of last year’s Girl’s Weekend 🙂 The Original Recipe came from my Mother-in-Law, Patti, this is her signature cookie 🙂

Leave a Reply

