My Three Joys

I still cannot believe it is 2012!  I’m not sure about you, but I had an extremely difficult time getting back into the non-holiday season routine. The week was subpar for me, but the weekend shaped up to be pretty amazing.

Number One:

My brother Fred came to visit!

I am not sure if I have mentioned this before but my little brother (and by little I mean younger than me by sixteen months) lives in Philadelphia and is an airline pilot. The last time we saw each other was back in May at my wedding and it was so great to pick him up from the airport last night!

I am so proud of my brother. After working for Air Wisconsin flying US Airway jets for six years, he graciously accepted a new position as First Officer flying an Airbus with Spirit Airlines. Seriously so proud.  Ever since I can remember he has always talked about wanting to fly planes so it was no surprise to me when he went to flight school right after high school. He is definitely the type of person who reaches whatever goal he sets for himself.

Number Two

With my impending graduate school career,  I just HAD to outfit myself with some Drake swag.

Love it!

Number Three

For one of my January goals, I picked cleaning and organizing my closet.

(That white shirt is my brother’s pilot shirt and I forgot to move before taking the picture in case anyone was wondering).

There is no better time than the beginning of the year to start fresh with going through your clothes and getting rid of those that no longer fit or that you no longer wear.

I also turned my hangers backwards so that at the end of this year I will know which items I didn’t wear. I am excited to see which ones I think I wear, but really don’t.

I can be a little picky when it comes to my closet and my clothes.

  1. I only use plastic or wooden hangers. I cannot stand wire hangers.
  2. I put away my summer clothes during the winter and winter clothes away during the summer.
  3. My nice dress pants are hanging while my jeans and not so nice dress pants are folded.
  4. I hang all of my shirts (except pj shirts) and sweaters.

I have a super sweet hidden clothing rack behind one side of my closet that holds my vests and sweatshirts. Those hangers have also been turned over.

Jake and I are fortunate enough to have our own closets so no need to worry about his clothes getting in the way. All I need to do now is get his hangers turned around. Wish me luck!

Alright, off to enjoy the rest of the evening with my brother!

Have a wonderful week!

4 thoughts on “My Three Joys

  1. I thankfully have been good about the working out part over the holiday’s, but the food part and just the normal meals, etc is the hardest part for me. Your basil apple lime juice sounds delicious. I also made a couple of smoothies this week which were heaven for my body.

  2. Pingback: My Three Joys |

  3. Pingback: January Goals Recap |

Leave a Reply

