Cheesy Goodness

Well, I am happy to report that Iowa is finally giving us a winter.  After weeks of record breaking highs, winter has decided to grace us.

The flurries have started and I am rather excited, even if it only lasts for a couple of days. 🙂

I know you are all dying to hear an update on my January goals. I am holding strong on the waking up at 6:30 am at least three times a week to workout. Whoohoo! I am overjoyed! There is no greater feeling then waking up early, bustin’ my butt to plyometrics and still have plenty of time to get ready for my day.

Good thing I worked out too, because it was a day of food celebration. At work today, we celebrated National Milk Day. My office is notorious for having pot-lucks at least once a month, but seemed to have missed December.  Well, last week my co-worker Jaime decided we were going to bring it back this month and in style… with a theme! Every dish was centered around, yep you guessed it, milk. Okay, actually diary products, but close enough. 😉

I stuffed myself full to the brim with cream cheese pickle dip, broccoli cheddar soup, veggie pizza, spinach artichoke dip, funfetti cake, and peanut butter pie. Not a super healthy lunch, but hey, National Milk Day only happens once a year. ;).

I decided I would bring my new favorite crock-pot dish. Crock-pot cheesy cajun chicken spaghetti. Whoa, that is a mouth full, but it is AMAZING.

I found out about this dish a month ago from a co-worker. It smelled and looked delicious. She told me she found the recipe on Pinterest. I quickly scooped up the recipe and a couple of days later made it for Jake and I.

Crock-pot Cheesy Cajun Chicken Spaghetti

slightly adapted from What’s Cooking!

Ingredients

  • 1 lb Velveeta cheese, cubed
  • 1 can fat-free cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 can fat-free cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 1 medium bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 white or yellow onion, diced
  • 1-2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning
  • 2 chicken breasts- cooked (I baked mine), diced or shredded
  • 16 ounces spaghetti noodles, cooked
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Spray crock-pot with cooking spray.
  2. Add ingredients starting with the cubed Velveeta, both cans of soup, Rotel, diced bell pepper, onion, and Cajun seasoning. Mix together.
  3. Add chicken and cooked spaghetti noodles. Pour water over noodles.
  4. Cook ingredients on low for 30 minutes. Combine all ingredients together with large spoon.
  5. Cook dish on low for 2-3 hours, stirring every 30 minutes.

Unfortunately this isn’t a crock-pot dish you can set at the beginning of the day and let it cook on it’s on… but trust me on this one, it is worth the little work that is required.

Alright, back to watching my new favorite show, Sons of Anarchy. I have to enjoy my last few nights of freedom before school starts next week!

4 thoughts on “Cheesy Goodness

  1. Heather is on a super crock pot kick lately, so I’m going to have to tell her about this one! Sounds like it will be excellent and something we (including Ava) will all love. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

