What’s on my iPhone

It’s official, I am a graduate student! Whoohoo! I had my first class Tuesday night,  Technology in Education. Our very first assignment was to was to create a PowerPoint collage to display while we introduced ourselves to the class.

I. about. had. a. heart. attack. I hate to admit this, but I am 30 years old and know nothing about using PowerPoint. I used the program maybe once or twice when I was an undergrad years ago and haven’t touched it since. Thankfully our professor was super friendly and amazingly helpful when needed.

And now there is a new program Prezi, which is apparently the new PowerPoint, but even cooler. SO many things I need to catch up on!

In my tech ed. class we will be going through the Digital Community, Digital Citizen textbook to discuss the advantages of our growing technological world and then our choice of Technopoly, The Shallows, or Amusing Ourselves to Death to discuss the disadvantages and how our world and culture is shaped by technology. Along with our ongoing discussions of how to use technology in the classroom, we will also be responsible for four technology projects.  

I am SUPER pumped!

When thinking about technology, I know I have a lot to learn. But one thing I do know is my way around my iPhone and my apps.

These days smart phones are everywhere. I have had my iPhone for the past two years and love it.  It makes life so simple and helps me to stay organized, just the way I like to be. Not to mention, keeps me entertained at times. 🙂

I will confess, I rarely seek out new apps and get the majority of them through word of mouth, or Jake. My techy-nerd hubby always has the up and coming apps on his phone and always shares the good ones with me.

I thought it would be fun to share a few my favorites that I couldn’t live without. 

1. NPR

I am an NPR junkie and you can always find my car radio station tuned in to the local station.  Jake and I recently got rid of cable and so when I had to say goodbye to the Today show every morning while getting ready, I tuned in to my stream of NPR morning news.

It makes getting the news super easy and I have grown very fond of Morning Edition.

2. Evernote

Jake introduced me to this app sometime when we first started dating and I haven’t looked back. It came in handy for me when Jake and I were planning our wedding. We had separate notes for our budget, guest list, to-do list, and all the in-between.

Now I use it for menu planning, grocery lists, bill reminders, budget updates, address book, just about anything and everything.

The best thing I love about Evernote is that it I have it on my Mac and it syncs with my iPhone so I can get it anywhere and I can share a note with Jake.

3. Orchestra

Confession. I love to be organized. I am willing to try anything to help me be more proficient organization. Although I only heard about this app last week from Jake, I am really enjoying it thus far.  Orchestra is a perfect way to keep an ongoing task list.  

The cool part about this app is that you have the option to speak into the phone  and it will type our your task’s instead of typing out your list.

And you can send tasks to other people.  So perfect for when I want to send Jake a message that requires some action.

When he completes the task, he can check it as completed and I will get that message on my phone.

3. Temple Run

I have had this app for the past week and I am addicted. The object of the game is to run through the course that has you picking up coins all while making fast turns,  jumping and ducking under barriers at high speeds all before the creatures capture you.

 

Such a time waster, but I am okay with that.

4. Flixster

Jake and I are movie junkies. We probably hit up at least two a month. Flixster is perfect for us looking up what new movies are currently out and upcoming release dates. It is also a good way to check out the location and movie times when you are on the go.

 

We also enjoy reading the Rotten Tomatoes reviews.

PS. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was AMAZING. Jake and I read the books a couple of years ago and have been waiting patiently for the American version of the movie to come out. It did not disappoint. Fair warning though, there are a couple of graphic scenes.

Well, time to brace myself for my second class in Psychology of Education tonight. A nice four hour class I might add. Good thing I have a little trip to Starbucks planned to help me stay alert and focused.

What apps do you have on your phone that you cannot live without?

4 thoughts on “What’s on my iPhone

  1. Hey Joyful Girlie: Thanks for writing up the info on your fave apps, I’ve never heard of Evernote and am going to search for it right now! Couple Baczwaski Faves: “Beat this Price,” “Shazam,” “MyFitnessPal,” “IMDb,” and “Moviefone” (which sounds like your Flixster app). Hope you enjoyed your Psych of Ed Class as much as your Tech in Ed Class 🙂

  2. The Tech Ed class sounds amazing. Seen reviews on The Shallows book and wondering if the book is part of the class. You’ll have to tell us what you think of it

Leave a Reply

