Sunday Prep

As part of my January goals, I attempted to prepare one week’s menu of meals ahead of time. That week has long since passed, but I thought I would share with you what I did. As I mentioned in my January Goals Recap, I didn’t prepare as much as I should have, but it was a great first attempt.

The first thing I prepped was perhaps more for the month ahead then the week. I am an avid smoothie fan and love making them at home. Normally, I pull all of the ingredients out separately just prior to making them. To save some time however,  I thought it would be worth my wild to prep them into baggies and freeze them. Then all I have to do is put the baggie items into the blender with some yogurt and liquid to make a delicious smoothie!

Starting with bananas, I added a half of one to each baggie. (It really doesn’t matter where they are in the ripening stage.)

I always find at least two or three open bags of frozen fruit in my freezer at any given time. This particular Sunday I found two bags of frozen fruit and then one bag full of fresh strawberries I had frozen.

I measured out the fruit to an overflowing 1/2 a cup. I mixed it up by filling some bags with just strawberries , others with just mixed berries and then a combination of both.

Jake and I had bought this huge container of spinach at Costco and so I decided to add a handful to each bag.

This spinach had such a luscious green color and so fresh.

I then added one teaspoon of flax-seed.  The best flax-seed to use is ground, but I was trying to use up the whole seeds I had accidentally purchased.

All of the ingredients then went into sandwich bags.

So colorful, so simple!

With the ingredients I had on hand, I was able to make six bags of smoothie ingredients.

I then put them into a bigger bag so I can easily find them in my overcrowded freezer. 😉

When it comes time to make the smoothie, I simply pull a bag out of the freezer, add either a cup of my favorite greek yogurt, Chobani, or a cup of Fage, milk or orange juice to my blender and mix away. I typically don’t measure out the milk or orange juice and add more or less depending on desire of thickness.

The best part about these smoothies is that they are super quick to make, versatile, don’t require any added sweeteners and super healthy for you! Not to mention taste simply divine.

Smoothie Prep

In a plastic bag add the following ingredients and freeze:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 to 1  cup fruit, fresh or frozen
  • handful spinach
  • 1 teaspoon flax-seed, ground

When time to make smoothie, add these items to the bagged ingredients:

  • 1 cup greek yogurt or yogurt cup
  • milk or orange juice

Mix together in a blender until all of the ingredients are combined well and have a smooth texture. This amount makes a little over 12 ounces. Of course you can make them bigger or smaller by adding more or less fruit, yogurt and liquid.

Wrap Fixin’s

Jake and I have been on a wrap kick lately. Wraps are super versatile and never seem to get old. Sometimes we will purchase lunch meat, but I had these chicken breasts in the freezer just waiting to be used.

I sliced each breast in half and sprinkled each with salt and pepper. They baked in the oven for 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees.

When they were cooled, I sliced them and stored them in a plastic container. I also found myself using this chicken to make chicken salad  for one of my dinners before class.

I also diced up some bell peppers…

and onions.

It was super nice to have these veggies chopped up ahead of time so all I had to do is grab them out of the fridge and add them to the wrap. We also used these for omelets Jake made for dinner that week.

Randoms

I love eating carrots with ranch dressing, so I made sure that I had the ranch dressing in a container ready to go in my lunch the next day.

Not that there is any prep in this, but I just have to share a new favorite of ours.

Babybel cheese is so rich and creamy and super simple to throw in my lunch bag for a mid-morning or afternoon snack.

As you can see, I really didn’t prep much for big meals, but just a couple of basics. Jake and I have realized that with me having two night classes a week, both of us at church on Wednesday night and our usual Friday night date nights, it only really leaves Monday evenings during the week that we are cooking at home together. I have been wanting to turn Tuesday nights into crock pot dinner nights as it would be something easy for Jake to have for dinner and then plenty of leftovers for when I get out of class.

I hope to be able to attempt this again in the future, with more planning and actual full meals. It would be super nice to have the time to do this each Sunday as it really does take away minutes when getting lunches made in the mornings.

Do you try to prep anything for the week, food or otherwise? I would love to hear any ideas and tips that have saved you time.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Prep

  1. Pingback: My Three Joys |

  2. Yes! I’m a big Sunday Food Prep practitioner.

    I usually bake/roast some chicken, chop a bunch of vegetables, cook a pot of whole grains (brown rice, quinoa, etc.) and either make or get everything ready for some larger dinner later in the week. Or about every couple weeks in the winter, I’ll make a pot of soup. Chicken chili, curried butternut squash, or lentil vegetable have been on my short list.

Leave a Reply

