My husband has been diagnosed with Hodgkin lymphoma

On February 15th, Jake and I found out that he has been diagnosed with Hodgkin lymphoma. This diagnosis comes after several months of doctor visits and more tests than I care to count.

My husband has written a detailed account of our journey since his symptoms began. Please visit his website at JakeBouma.com to read what got us to this point and more about Hodgkin lymphoma.

With this news, both Jake and I will be blogging and documenting our journey through his chemo and radiation treatments.

Both Jake and I have been blessed with the amazing love and support of our close family and friends through the journey thus far and for their continued support.

If you’re the praying type, we will covet your prayers in the coming days, weeks, and months. Lord, in your mercy, hear our prayer.

This will be a learning process for both Jake and I.  All questions, comments, related information, etc. are welcomed.

19 thoughts on “My husband has been diagnosed with Hodgkin lymphoma

  1. Libby, I am so sorry to hear your news! Scot was diagnosed with non hodgkins lymphoma in his twenties as well and the fight was long and hard but it turned out ok. I will certainly put you in my prayers and hope that everything turns out ok. How exactly does his treatment work? There are no tumors right? So is it just chemotherapy treatments? Anyway, I wish you all the best through this hard, trying time.

    • That is so good to know and hear about Scot. He will have to have chemo and radiation. Next Wednesday we will have the PET scan and bone marrow biopsy back to know exactly what stage and subtypes we are dealing with. We will then work with our oncologist to figure out what the treatment plan wil look like. Jake and I are in really good spirits and know that with our strength and the prayers, love and support of others we will get through this.

  2. I think its so telling of your relationship, that in the videos documenting your experience with this so far, you can see how much you love each other. In addition to the anticipation and concern on your faces, there is humor, love, and hope in your eyes at varying points. I have no doubt that you will get through this and it will only add to your already solid foundation. We have had the pleasure of hanging out with you as a couple only a handful of times, and so I don’t know Jake well. BUT I do know that my good friend found her long-sought and well-deserved happiness of heart when he walked into her life. And that’s all I need to know of his character 🙂 In the meantime, until I get to see you next, my prayers will be focused on Jake’s upcoming treatment and healing, and strength for you both as you go through this. I know that Klaus and Baby D are good listeners, but if ever they are unavailable and you need someone to listen, pick up the phone day or night, I am here friend and I love you.

    • Miss Jayna B, I cannot thank you enough for those words that filled me with laughter, thankfulness and appreciation for having you in my life. Klaus and Baby D have been such great listeners, but I am sure at some point they will want a break and I thank you for willing to be there. ;). Jake is my soul mate (as cheesy as that sounds) and I know that I was meant to live the rest of my life with him. Despite the struggles thus far and the challenges we face, our love, humor, faith and strength coupled with the support and prayers from you and others will get us through.

  3. You and Jake are an inspiration to me! Thank you for allowing us into your world to be able to cheer you on. Sending Love and Hugs to you both as you fight the good fight.

  4. Angel,I am always here ,you know this( for both Jake and you ).You two are an inspiration to others and
    a testimony of faith and love .& prayer .mom xo

  5. Libby and Jake,

    Know that you both are in our prayers. I will will forward your request for prayers to the church Terry and I attend on your behalf.

    We love and care about you, and will be wishing a successful recovery!

    Love Loren

    • Loren, thank you for your prayers. Jake and I were planning a trip to Denver this spring, but may not be able to make that happen. Please let us know you and Terry are planning on coming to Sioux City as I would love for you to meet Jake and to see you both again!

  6. Libby & Jake,
    You don’t know me, my name is Susan i’m good friends with your mom Debbie, she told me what was going on,I just wanted to share my sympathy for what your going through, it will be rough but from the looks of your relation ship, you 2 will stand strong.. It’s hard to find a mariage like yours, i’m also lucky to have that.. Please if you need anything, even just to talk to someone, feel free to call me i’m a good listener, we all need someone from time to time.. Your Mom has been great, I just lost my Dad december 30th and i’m having a real hard time getting through this but your is persistant and calls me all the time to make sure i’m ok I love her to death.. but anyway, please know my prayers, thoughts, love, and friendship is with you and Jake and your family.. God Bless you all.. You can get my number from your mom if you need it…..

    • Susan,
      Thank you for your kind words and blessings. I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your father. My mother is a wonderful person who has always been amazing support and a good person to have in your life. Jake and I are extremely thankful for our relationship and know that with all of the love, support and prayers we will get through this.

  7. OH thank you Susan and my friends like Sylivia..Prayer works and why we pray for each other.

    God Bless to all.. I cried so much at Libby’s wedding because I knew she and jake had found true love…

    their story is a testimony of love and faith and encouragement to others ..Debbie

  8. Libby,

    You and Jake are in my thoughts and prayers. I was a caregiver for my husband when he went through cancer treatment. It’s amazing how strong we can be for the people we love. If you ever need someone to talk to feel free to call me. By the way I grew up in Pueblo and went to high school with your sweet beautiful Mother.

    Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

    God Bless You,

    Mary Campbell
    562-822-1339 (cell)

    • Thank you so much Mary for your comment. Jake and I have an amazing relationship and I am not sure how we would get through this without that, God and all of the support we have.

  9. Thank you Mary (Shirley ) It is so nice when friends of mine are there for my daughter..Libby is strong always has been since she was a child …

    Your faith Libby will keep you strong….remembert it is ok to ..just vent and I am always with you my love .~and so many people who do love you 🙂

  10. Hi Libby. While searching for some support forums, I cam across your blog. My husband was just recently diagnosed with Classic Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, as well. While I am unfortunately no stranger to cancer (both my parents have/had cancer), it is still a very scary situation to be in. I subscribed to your blog and am excited to follow you and your husband on your journey in hopes that I will feel less alone through ours. I wish you all the luck and love in the world and pray for a speedy, cancer-free recovery!

Leave a Reply

