My Three Joys

After taking a couple of Sunday’s off from My Three Joys, I’m back! This week was a roller coaster of emotions for sure, but still brought out some joyful moments.

Number One:

Happy Birthday to me! I have to say that my 30th year on this earth was by far the best year to date and I am looking forward to my 31st! My birthday celebration on Saturday actually started on Friday when my friend Kelly brought me these beautiful flowers.

Then later that night Jake and I headed out to Prairie Meadows to celebrate our non-Vegas Vacation. Promptly at midnight I received my annual Happy Birthday phone call from my bestie Michelle and Andy.

Saturday morning I slept in (which never happens) and enjoyed a nice Legs and Back workout. Since I was the birthday girl, I chose to  Mimi’s Cafe to enjoy a nice plate of pancakes slathered in butter with bananas and strawberries. Yummy!  I also indulged in a bubbly mimosa while Jake sipped on Bloody Mary. Cheers!

We then hit up a couple of stores on the hunt for an electric blanket for Jake when he gets the chills, but had no such luck. We were on the hunt for an electric blanket for him when he gets the chills, but no luck. Kohl’s did have a very nice microfleece one, but they didn’t have the queen size we needed. 😦

Later that evening we had Jake’s family over for appetizers and soup and enjoyed some Wii Sport Resort action. It was a delightful birthday!

Number Two:

Jake couldn’t wait for me to open up my birthday gift, thus me getting to open it on Friday afternoon.  I am super excited as it is on my list of “to-reads” this year. I do have another book ahead of this one, which I plan to share in the near future.

Number Three:

Jake’s mom Sarah, was in town all week and I am so lucky to not only have a mother-in-law who is not only nice, loving and supportive, but one that I get along with very well. Having Sarah here to come to all of Jake’s appointments was a blessing. Jake and I were also able to spend down time with her. The only thing I regret is not getting in a game of cribbage. Next time for sure.

I am looking forward to a quieter week with only one medical appointment to date. Jake has posted a new blog post complete with a video about his appointments this past Thursday and Friday.

Have a wonderful week! 

Leave a Reply

