My Three Joys

Dear Monday,

Typically I am not happy to see you, but today I am. It means that all of my errands are done, all six loads of laundry are washed, folded and put away, the deep freezer is humming quietly in our basement, and that there is only one more day until Jake and I find out when he can start chemo. Thank you for giving me a productive weekend, although I was hoping for a lazy one. Please keep me motivated tonight to get my homework done. Thank you.

Love,

Libby

Number One:

Lent started this past week with Ash Wednesday and I just realized I haven’t mentioned it yet.  I was consumed with the frustrations that occurred on Ash Wednesday, and I haven’t given my full attention to the Lenten season these past few days. Lent is most easily explained as a period of forty days during which we reflect on our own sinfulness, mortality, and reliance on the God’s mercy during the weeks leading up to Jesus’s suffering, crucifixion and resurrection. It is a time when we are encouraged to reflect, soul-search and pray.

I cannot tell you the last time I celebrated Lent or engaged in anything involving this season. This year, Jake and I decided to read Psalms every night for the next forty days. I have thought about giving up something to show my penitence, but decided against it.

Instead, I am going to work on as many of these things off of this wonderful list of 40 things to do during Lent. The list comes from the every so enchanting Nadia Bolz-Weber, Pastor at House for all Sinners and Saints in Denver, CO.  If you are ever in the Denver area and looking for a unique, beautiful and wonderful place to worship, I highly recommend you stop by.

Jake also discusses his thoughts regarding the significance of events that fell on Ash Wednesday in his post titled “Setting the Stage”. 

Number Two:

In preparation of changing our eating habits and the foods that go into our bodies, Jake and I joined the Iowa Food Co-op and bought a deep freezer this week. Our first order of several pounds of grass-fed beef and whole chickens are in and I cannot wait to pick them up later this week!

My sister-in-law is a hardcore locavore and is bursting at the seams to show me the ropes.  We have had some really good conversations and I am yearning to learn more. I am committed to changing what we put into our bodies so that Jake can be fully nourished during his next few months of chemo. I plan to talk more about what changes we are making as soon as I have a good handle on it myself. 🙂

Number Three:

And the end of the day, it is the very small things in life that brings me so much joy.

Like seeing Klausie curled up in the most hilarious positions.

I promise you, it never gets old. 🙂

I do hope that this week finds a way to bring you joy.

3 thoughts on “My Three Joys

Leave a Reply

