March Goals

Well, it may come as no surprise to anyone that I am not sad to see February leave us. Although it is our birthday month, it was also a month of a lot of unknowns, filled with nervousness, anxiety and overall frustration. I know that March isn’t going to be a picnic by any means, but maybe just a teensy bit less hectic.

With another month upon us, so is another set of goals. In all fairness, this month I wasn’t super creative in coming up with new ones.  Since my February goals were a wash, I figured I mine as well reuse a couple of them. 🙂

March Monthly Goals:

1. No Fried Foods

This was a huge flop for February, so here is to second chances. Jake and I will not be eating out very much, if at all in the near future, so this one just might be easier than I think as I won’t be tempted. Here’s to hopeful thinking!

2. Make homemade laundry detergent.

Oh I had such high hopes for getting this done last month. This month I really have no choice as we are just about out of laundry detergent. All of the ingredients are ordered, so we are good to go!

3. Start and finish “Help Me Live: 20 things people with cancer want you to know”. 

(Source)

During one of Jake’s many information seeking searches about cancer and Lymphoma, he came across this book.  He showed it to me and said that at some point he thinks this would be helpful for me and anyone else who was going to help care for him.  To his excitement, Jake received this book as a gift  in the mail the other day from a friend and survivor of cancer. I am rather excited to start reading it!

4. Post one new recipe a week from our cancer-fighting cookbook. 

This really shouldn’t be that hard as I have already made a couple of them and have no doubt in my mind that they will continue. The toughest part may be getting them posted each week! 😉

5. Turn my cell phone off every Sunday after church until I go to bed.

I did this, along with not opening my computer, a couple of weeks ago and is was splendid. Serious amazing. At first I had a couple of reflex motions of grabbing my phone, or going to pick up my laptop, but then reminded myself why I put them away for the day. I can say that I truly felt more relaxed and rested that afternoon. I watched a little TV, did some homework and read. Jake and I had some good conversations as well. I find myself having my iPhone in my hand more times than I care to admit during the day and really will not miss the notification sounds of my turn in Scramble or Words with Friends, Twitter or email.   

Well, time for me to bust a move on some work and homework. Have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “March Goals

  1. I do #5 and it’s heaven 🙂 Wanted to send you a quick note to refer you to a blog of an Omaha native/now michagan man that has cancer. I’ve read his blog for years (via his very famous photographer wife). He’s an amazing writer, devout christian and he’s choosing alternative methods to his inoperable brain tumor. His posts are extremely powerful and I’ve shared it with many people not faced with cancer.

    http://www.jumpdavidjump.com

    If you’ve already seen it my apologies, but I can only hope that connecting with people who are going through the same thing can only lead to better lives for all.

    I hope March leads to good news and some more peaceful moments 🙂

  2. Afew months ago I quit opening my computer as well on Sundays and I usually turn my phone off in evenings ! It is very liberating and the sun will ‘stiil “rise in the morning 🙂 It is amazing how much wasted time I figued I was losing…….when I added up the hours…….glued to my pc….Your new cooking style can only be good news as it will be healthier :plus the money you will save from eating out .Ps I don’t think your february was a flop at all,Quite the opposite !Thanks for the mention of this book , not just for caregivers but a great sourse of valuable information to all who have been toiuched by you and Jakes story and journey~~~~~~xoKeep on keeping on angel..xo mom~

Leave a Reply

