My Three Joys

What a week. Jake started his first round of chemotherapy on Thursday and we have been hanging out since.

Jake has already enjoyed a couple of recipes from the cancer cookbook that I look forward to sharing with you this week. We have also learned so far that Doritos and sugary cereal do not sit well with his tummy. Now I know that some might be thinking why is he eating those things… In my opinion, I will get him to eat healthy stuff as much as possible for our main meals, But if he wants to eat something that sounds good, I am not going to stop him. I mean have you seen the poor guy and how skinny he is getting?! 😉

To me this first round of chemo is all about learning and a trial and error process. So far we have learned that Jake is STARVING after chemo itself and has a pretty good appetite for the rest of that day and the following. Saturday afternoon/evening is when the foods need to be kept pretty light as his tummy is turning a little. He has also started to experience the mouth soreness and has been sipping hot tea, smoothie and soon a triple berry granita to help his achy mouth.

Although this week was another crazy one, as always I am thankful for the small things in life that bring me joy.

Number One:

Jake and I have been enjoying the deep freezer in our basement. Correction.  We have been enjoying knowing that we have it in the basement.  This week I was able to get a start on my freezer storage. Thursday night Jake and I got our first shipment from the Iowa Food Co-op. Our sister-in-law was kind enough to pick up our order for us and deliver the items right to our deep freezer.  Friday night I made stuffed shells and after Jake and I ate them for dinner, I packaged the rest in single serving sizes. Saturday morning I made some almond muffins (recipe to come) and have a few in the freezer for another day. Today I packaged fourteen triple berry and strawberry smoothie baggies for  convenient use in the weeks to come.

In addition to the food going in, Thursday night my friend Kelly and I went in on an order of 3 bulk sets of 8 oz, 16 oz and 32 oz size containers from The Webstaurant Store. Whoohooo! They have been ordered and shipped as of yesterday, so I am hopeful they will be here tomorrow or Tuesday. Once they are here, I plan to make some homemade chicken stock and a soup or two.

Number Two:

Yesterday I was able to enjoy a truly lazy day. Well, about as lazy as I can get. Read: Not any physical activity. I am almost a little bit embarrassed to admit this but I didn’t change out of my pj’s all day and was only off the couch to make muffins in the morning and to visit the bathroom and make meals. 😉  Although it was a lazy day physically, I somehow managed to have a semi-productive day with getting a couple of work and homework items checked off my list. Of course the work was done at a very slow pace, in between watching movies like Love and Other Drugs and Bag of Bones.

Number Three:

Today, Faith’s youth group held their annual silent auction. Not only was there a lot of fabulous items to bid on, but there were so many amazing volunteers, youth and adult alike. It always bring joy to my heart to see so many people come together to make things happen.

Along with the rock star help, I was able to enjoy the beautiful voices of my amazing and talented husband and his singing partner Alyssa. WOW. Both of them have extremely gifted and talented voices and paired with Jake’s guitar playing, a combination that cannot be missed. After singing together for the past three years, I am always in awe at how well they know each other’s voices and abilities. A true treat and joy to the end of my week. 🙂

Time for me to get my kitchen cleaned up and then some more couch time.

Have a wonderful week!

2 thoughts on “My Three Joys

  1. I’m guessing there’s a lot of overlap with the cookbook you’ve been referencing, but have you seen Forks Over Knives? It’s a documentary that focuses quite a bit of treating disease with food. I really learned a lot watching it.

Leave a Reply

