My Three Joys

I cannot believe I am about to start my thirteenth week of classes. I have another three weeks of classes to go and then finals week. Thankfully my finals this semester consists of a group project in my technology class and assessments with my professor in my educational psychology class.

It seems like this past month has been a never-ending cycle of assignments and projects to work on. And I am okay with that. In no way did I think graduate school would be a walk in the park, I just wasn’t expecting graduate school and cancer. ūüėČ

With that said, I am holding up well and managing to make some headway into my assignments. I have learned that it certainly helps taking a couple of days off during the week from doing any homework to recharge myself and focus on other things… such as the five loads of laundry that was washed, folded and put away today. YEA TO ME!

This past week was splendid and I am super excited to share!

Number One:

I am happy to report that I am the proud owner of seven¬†totes filled to the brim with a first grade classroom. Melinda, the Director of Children and Family Ministries at Faith, gave me all of her old lesson plans, center activities, worksheets, and boatloads of children’s books. ¬†I am OVERJOYED. Melinda was a first grade teacher several years back and has been holding on to all of these precious items. Melinda, knowing how excited I am to be an elementary teacher, wanted me to have all of her classroom items so they could have a happy home.

Granted some of the information and materials are outdated, but the lessons will no doubt still be the same. Those totes are currently stacked high in my basement just waiting for me to go through them. It was extremely difficult for me not to blow off homework yesterday and sort through everything.  With time being so limited these days, I decided that I will devote a weekend in May when I have a break from school. I cannot wait to pour through the lesson plans, activities and see what fun things I will get to teach little kiddies in the years to come!

Number Two:

Thursday afternoon I sat down and took a good hard look at all of our medical bills coming in. In an earlier post I spoke about my disbelief in how Jake and I were approached at his oncology clinic about our medical bills with them. In the anticipation of being approached again on Friday, I wanted to know everything I possible could about our insurance plan (more just triple checking I had it straight), and know exactly who and when we were paying people.

I spent a good hour on the phone with two different people with Blue Cross, Blue Shield discussing bills I had questions about and another hour going through and organizing our bills in accordance to what we have paid so far, and what we have yet to pay. I wanted to be prepared.  There is SO much to know about insurance and medical bills it is unreal. Long story long, a couple of take home messages I learned.

  1. Know your insurance policy inside and out. Ask the same question three different ways until you can repeat it back in different scenarios.
  2. Never pay a medical unless you know for sure the agency/hospital/clinic has filed a claim with your insurance company and the insurance claim has been approved and reflected in your final bill.
  3. If you have a deductible and/or out-of-pocket requirement, keep track of how much you are paying and to whom. You never want to pay someone more than you owe as part of your plan.
  4. Keep every single piece of paper you receive in regards to bills. Organize them. Understand them. If you do not understand something, call your insurance company and ask.
It feels wonderful to finally have a solid understanding of our insurance and medical bills. And to know I am prepared for the next time we are approached at the oncology clinic. (They really are wonderful people, just make things ten times more confusing).
Number Three:

WE DID IT!

Let’s Do This went above and beyond our¬†original goal of $7, 500 and surpassed our second¬†goal of $10,000!!!

As of tonight, our pledge has reached $10, 365 with 147 backers! HOLY MOLY! I seriously cannot believe it. This documentary is something that has been very close to our hearts and has turned in to something bigger than us. Just from the brief videos Jake has been posting on Jakebouma.com and promoting on Kickstarter,  we have felt the small impact it is already making. Jake has received several  heartfelt emails and comments of how his videos have helped people understand more what a loved one has gone through, given encouragement to some to ask different questions and request specific tests to their doctors, and has gotten others through the scary first weeks of their recent diagnoses.

This is what it is all about. Thank you to all who support this project and us through your prayers. 

With another weekend coming to a close, I continue to be reminded of all the things I have to be thankful for in this life.  Time goes by too fast and some days I wish it would slow down just a little bit more.

I hope you all have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

