For the Month of May

A little late, but that is okay. Here’s a quick re-cap of my April Goals:

1.  Read at least four out of five nights before bed. Success!

I think it helped that I am reading Stephen King’s 11/22/63 . Oh MY WORD. SO FREAKING GOOD. I could not put it down. This is my first Stephen King novel and much praise to him. An amazing writer. 

2. Start and Finish “Natural Strategies for Cancer Patients” by Dr. Blaylock. 

Oh I had such high hopes for this book, but it just didn’t make it past the first couple of chapters. It has a lot of good information, but I just couldn’t get in to it. 

3. Go to bed before 10:30 every week night. Oy Vey!

 Yep, this certainly did not happen. 

4. Clean my car.50/50

I was able to clean it out of all the random stuff I have in there and wipe it down, but never did make it to get vacuumed. 

5. Drink two nalgene bottles of water a day.  Success!

It sure does help that I haven’t drank soda in two weeks! 

I truly contemplated not having any May goals, but with three weeks of no school, its good to have things on my mind to accomplish.

1.  Set up my garden.

My dad is coming this weekend and we are going to work on creating a container garden. Because of limited space, I think I will only be able to have a pot or two of tomato plants and then a couple of pots with basil and another herb or two.

2. Complete at least one home project.

I have an ongoing list of projects (organize front closet, frame sweet owl paper, re-cushion my bench, make candles, go through tubs of classroom stuff) that I want to get done around the house and with three weeks of no school I feel confident I can get at least one of them done. 🙂

3. Spend a Sunday prepping freezer friendly meals. 

I am taking three classes in the month of June and plan to be extremely busy with that alone, not to mention VBC, Jake’s last chemo treatments and full-time work. Having meals ready to go in our freezer has been so handy thus far, but our stash is getting low. I hope to take advantage of a free Sunday this month and work on making at least two crock pot meals ready to go, one casserole and one soup.

4. Go on at least two walks a week.

I have been doing great with my morning hybrid workouts of P90x and Insanity, but haven’t really taken advantage of the gorgeous weather outside.  I hope to replace one of my morning workouts and take one evening walk a week. Maybe if I’m lucky, Jake will join me on my evening walks. 😉

5. Make a batch of beef jerky.

I am a little embarrassed to admit this, but Jake and I haven’t made a batch of this delicious snack since Christmas. WAY too long. When I was at the Omaha farmer’s market last weekend, I sampled some at a stand and longed for our perfected flavor.

Do you have any goals for the month of May? If so, I’d love to hear them! 

2 thoughts on “For the Month of May

  1. Pingback: My Three Joys «

  2. Pingback: June Goals «

Leave a Reply

