My Three Joys

Happy Memorial Day! First and foremost- Thank you to all who have served our country, past and present. While I do not come from an overly military family, a couple of my uncles on both sides have served our country and I am thankful for their service.

With the giving of thanks for those who have put their lives on the line for my freedom, I am selfishly thankful for the extra day it puts on our weekend.  While Jake and I didn’t have any special weekend plans, it has been nice relaxing at home, playing an absurd amount of backgammon and Super Mario Bros Wii all while Jake is working through his nasty side effects of chemo.

Jake and I enjoyed a week without too many outside commitments and just time to be. I wish I could say that I was able to get a ton of things checked off of one of my May goals, but let’s be honest, I have been reveling in the mode of no extra work these past couple of weeks.

The week of Jake’s chemo always brings about a mix of emotions. The beginning of the week Jake is filled with 75% good/healthy feelings that quickly turns into that sick-in-the-pit-of-your-stomach feeling by Thursday night. It’s amazing what the mind can do to make you feel like you are on top of the world only to turn that feeling upside down within a day when realizing what lies ahead.

Number One:

Thursday evening our wedding photographer, Joshua Longbrake drove from Chicago to be with us that evening and into Friday’s seventh round of chemo.  The thing I love most about Joshua and his photographic eye is that he is moved to capture life just the way it is. No glitz, no glamour, just life. To me, it is absolutely beautiful and breathtaking. This is one of the many reasons we chose him to photograph our wedding.

The hope and success was for Joshua to take some pictures of Jake and I going about our lives the day before and of chemo. He photographed us in Hy-Vee, at home, Panera bread and at the hospital. Just doing our normal thing. I am looking forward to seeing the finished photos and sharing them with everyone.

Number Two:

Our article about our Let’s Do This documentary came out today!

Jess Knight with the Des Moines Register contacted Jake a couple of months ago in interest of writing a story about our documentary. Jake agreed to meet with her and after a few interviews and photographs taken, the story appeared in the paper yesterday.

Jake and I think Jess did a great job of capturing Jake’s positivity and spirit while working and living with cancer.

Number Three:

Friday night after chemo, Jake and I spent some time reflecting back on how far we have come in our one year of marriage and the things we have to look forward to moving ahead. As some of you may have guessed, Jake loves to record and take videos of us at just about any opportunity. And I love that about him. As we were reminiscing about our life, we started talking about our travels and most notably our trip to Cancun for our honeymoon. We pulled out our phones and started to watch some of our video clips, along with the pictures we had taken.

The breathtaking view from our hotel room.

The peaceful view we enjoyed every morning while eating breakfast.

Those perfectly made mimosas we sipped on after eating that delicious breakfast.

Walking along side the ocean, enjoying one another’s company, taking pictures galore.

Our lunches of melt-in-your-mouth sushi rolls.

All while celebrating our marriage.

Looking back on just the photos taken on our iPhones is nothing compared to the photographs Jake took with our real camera. Just looking back at the fun memories we made and the relaxing moments we shared makes me yearn for our next beach vacation.  🙂

Leave a Reply

