A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

I am not so sure about this Iowa weather. Saturday we were hovering around 90 degrees and five days later it is a cold, wet, icky, depressing 50 degrees. After 30 years of living in this state though I guess I shouldn’t expect anything less. ūüėČ

Jake hasn’t been feeling the greatest and I honestly felt pretty icky earlier in the day as well. All I could think about while at work was how nice a piping hot bowl of soup would be in my belly. And I knew I had the most perfect soup to share.

To be fair, I actually made this soup a couple of months ago, but just never got around to posting it. It is one of those soups that is super quick and easy to to pull together, especially when you hadn’t planned to be craving soup.

min·e·stro·ne

[min-uh-stroh-nee; It. mee-ne-straw-ne]

noun Italian Cookery .

a thick vegetable soup, often containing herbs, beans, bits ofpasta, etc.
(dictionary.com)
Or as I like to call it… everything but the kitchen sink soup.
The night I made this soup, Jake and I were both craving something warm and filling, ¬†but we didn’t necessarily have everything to make a soup.
Until I started digging…
and started finding all sorts of delicious veggies…
and beautiful kale from the Iowa Food Coop.
I looked in the cupboard to find a couple of cans of kidney beans staring  right back at me.
I threw it all into a pot.
added in a little chicken stock…
and these leftover noodles just waiting to be used.
To make a wonderful soup.
Minestrone
Ingredients
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 cup celery, chopped
  • 1/2 cup carrots, chopped
  • 2 handfuls of kale
  • 2 cans of red kidney beans, drained
  • 4 cups of chicken stock or broth
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 teaspoon of dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon of orageno
  • 1 cup of dried elbow noodles
  • salt and pepper to taste
Directions
  1. In a large soup pot heat olive oil.
  2. Add onion, garlic, carrots and celery. Heat until softened.
  3. Add in kidney beans and kale and heat until the kale is softened.
  4. Pour chicken stock, 2 cups of water, macaroni noodles, basil and oregano.
  5. Simmer over medium heat until noodles are tender, about 30-35 minutes.
The thing I love the most about this soup is that you can essentially use any veggie that you have in your fridge and pair it with any type of bean in your cupboard. I am a huge fan of using up leftover ingredients to make a delicious meal. I also have to say that this was the first time I used kale in a recipe and it was fabulous.
Well, off to take advantage of this cold evening and curl up with my kitties and a book!
One thought on “A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

  1. Yummy ,I could eat soup all year round:).and love minestrone(However ” I am not fond of kale) it tastes bitter to me ,, could I substitute another grean?like spinach or mustard greens ?..hapy to see the pics and recipes..I am now trying to eat healty and no processed foods so this is awesome…………………..thanks
    xo mom

Leave a Reply

