My Three Joys

If you asked me what day it was today, I’d surely tell you Thursday.  Vacation Bible School is in full swing and I have been pulling double duty with two jobs each day, school and taking care of Jake.  I hate wishing the week away, but will be thankful when Saturday hits. (Why not Friday you ask… because I begin my weekend class this Friday night and all day Saturday).

But alas, it is Tuesday and I am thankful for what this week has already brought me.

As for last week, without further ado…

Number One:

As mentioned in my June goals, I  made my first set of running goals in preparation to run a 5k in October with Jake. We were planning on running the Des Moines Marathon 5k until Erik told us about The Color Run.

RACE RULES
Rule #1
 All participants are welcome… fast, slow, runner, walker, old, and young.
Rule #2 White shirt dress code at the official start line and ready to roll no later than 1pm!
Rule #3 Completely colored Willy Wonka goodness at the finish.

How could we say no?!!! Grouped with Erik and his sister Kara, Team Giddy Up! is ready to rock the Color Run!

(I highly recommend checking this out if you have any interest in having fun. You don’t even have to be a runner!)

Number Two:

Last Friday was what Jake and I pray to be a nice milestone of his last chemo treatment. We were not sure what to expect with this 8th treatment, but with Jake’s little puke-and-rally during his treatment, we knew it was going to be the hardest one yet. With Jake homebound the following four days after chemo…it well, has gone. Jake is still feeling pretty blah today but we are praying it will be over soon and never again.

Jake’s PET scan is on June 20th and we meet with our oncologist on June 22nd to hear the results and hopefully plan for radiation. While this waiting is a) nothing new and b) overly annoying, we are keeping those positive thoughts  alive of it being the last treatment.

Number Three: 

The night before and day of Jake’s 7th treatment, our wedding photographer Joshua, stayed with us to take some photographs of Jake and I. Joshua had a super quick turn around of editing the photographs and we were able to see them earlier last week.

As my husband said on his blog: 

“Joshua graciously made the trip from Chicago to Des Moines to spend some time with Libby and I in order to shoot some promotional photos for the documentary. He posted several of the (phenomenal) photos over on his blog. I’d post the rest of them here, but we’ve gotta keep some things “secret” until the documentary is officially released, right? Anyway, “thank you” to Joshua for being willing to take time out of your life to document part of ours.”

Although I am able to take away three joyous moments each week, don’t get me wrong, I still have my stressful moments, emotionally draining days, and mini meltdowns (which seem to be ever-present lately). Knowing that I have the most loving husband to come home to every day, amazing family and friends who will drop anything to be there for me, our unbelievably loving church community and a most loving God by my side certainly makes this life a little bit easier.

One thought on “My Three Joys

Leave a Reply

