My Greatest Joy

When thinking about writing this blog post, I had so many ideas of how I wanted to share my relief, excitement, joy, and elation with everyone about our good news.

No matter what I talk about though, it all comes down Jake and I being extremely thankful to God and all of the love, support, prayers, and encouragement we received from our family and friends and the ability to say that he is (essentially) cancer free. Having Dr. Freeman show Jake and I those side-by-side PET scan images so that we could truly see with our own eyes the cancer being gone from his body was nothing short of amazing. It was an overwhelming rush of elation and relief knowing that what Jake had to endure with chemo and its nasty side effects was truly worth it all.

While this news brings a huge sigh of relief, it is by no means the end of the road. We have a radiologist appointment on July 5th and will schedule out what Jake’s radiation will look like. Just as with chemo, Jake and I have no idea what to expect with radiation, but God willing it is nothing like chemo.

Jake speaks more to the plans moving forward along with other updates over at his blog, Jakebouma.com.

***I  have to note that despite everything we have gone through, I realize we are the lucky ones in a lot of ways. I far to often hear stories of those who have been affected by cancer in one way or another and have had to deal with a lot more than we have had to with things such as extreme complications with chemo, delayed chemo treatments, hospital stays, financial devastation’s, and the list could go on and on.  I can only hope that by sharing our  journey we can give others hope and the strength that they need to stay positive and know that in the end it will all be worth it.

8 thoughts on “My Greatest Joy

  1. I could just cry! I am so beyond happy for you both! I cannot wait to hear those precious words from Jeremy’s doctors!! Congratulations and good luck with radiation!!

  2. What a relief !! Hmmm… Just my belief that the power of positive thinking applies here if ever anywhere! Love and Hugs to you an to Jake!

  3. You are a strong wonderful woman and I am soooo blessed you are my daughter in-law. You have done such a WONDERFUL job of taking care of my son and supporting him at your own personal sacrifice. There is nothing in words or anything I can do to let you know how I am sooo grateful for you helping Jake. I love you sooo much. Thank you seems so little but I love you VERY much and thank you for coming into his life and taking care of my son in the way you have done. You are the BEST!!!!!!!!!

    Dad

  4. Thank you “Ken” we feel the same way about Jake ,he has been such a positive influence for our daughter .The Lennon’s and Cisneros are so proud of Jake and his courage,his message and story of his journey(their journey has already helped so many.The love these two have for each other is truely inspiring ………..I know I include you when I say we are blessed parents ~~mom (Debbie)

  5. Pingback: Giving Thanks | Joyful Girl

Leave a Reply

