Fluffy Delicious Goodness

Do you ever have one of those moments where you start thinking about one thing and then two minutes later you are thinking of something completely unrelated? I have those moments more often than I would like to admit.

I also find myself having those moments on the Internet as well. I will find myself at one blog and then click on a link to another blog and then read something that reminds me of something I have been wanting to find more out about and then two minutes later I am reading all about what the cast of A League of Their Own is up to now because I love that movie. (True story)

Well last week I came across this recipe for the Pig Pickin’ Cake on the Serious Eats blog I subscribe to. I could not take my eyes off of the delicious cake they had photographed and wanted it right then and there. But being the good girl that I am, I restrained myself and knew there would be a later date that I could use the recipe.

Like the 4th of July! I however did not want to bake everything from scratch and so had to go in search of the original recipe that is more baker friendly (read: those who do not make cakes from scratch).

I actually looked at quite a few different recipes and read up about the history of this cake. Quite fascinating I will tell you. There are a few blogs out there that say that the cake’s name came from the it’s appearance at several pig roasting parties back in the day. Other blogs however state that the cake’s name comes from the fact that this cake is so good that you look like a “pig” when eating it because you can’t get enough.

In my case, it is the latter that I would attribute to the name. 😉

Pig Pickin’ Cake

Recipe from Deep South Dish 

Cake Ingredients:

  • 1 box of white cake mix
  • 1/3 cup of  canola oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 15 ounce can of mandarin oranges, undrained

Topping Ingredients:

  • 1 small package of instant vanilla pudding
  • 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple, undrained
  • 16 ounce carton of Cool Whip

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 13×9 inch cake pan.
Pour cake mix, oil, eggs and mandarin oranges into a large bowl.

Combine with a mixer for a couple of minutes.

Stare at the batter and wonder how delicious it truly is.

Lick the beaters when done. (Clearly I hang out on the side of the fence that it is totally okay with eating raw eggs, especially when they are mixed with pure deliciousness.)

Pour into cake pan.


Bake at 350 degrees following the time on the box or until a knife or toothpick inserted comes out clean.


Allow the cake to cool completely (at least an hour).
Once cake has cooled completely, combine vanilla pudding and pineapple together.

Set aside for five minutes.


Fold in Cool Whip to keep the fluffy goodness fluffy. With a rubber spatula, spread topping on cake.

Eat like no one is watching.

Until every last bite

is gone.

*** I have to note that in my haste of wanting to make and eat this cake, I failed to read the Cook’s notes at the bottom of the recipe page for what to change when making a cake using a 13×9 pan instead of round cake pans. My cake still turned out pretty fantastic, but I am sure with the increased mandarin oranges it would have been even better.

One thought on “Fluffy Delicious Goodness

Leave a Reply

