Giving Thanks

Thanksgiving always bring people to reflect back on what they are thankful for in this life.  A few of my friends have been posting their “30 days of thanks” on social media websites, naming one thing each day that they are thankful for. I find joy in reading what others are thankful for as there is so many different things in this world. As I myself reflect on the things I am thankful for, this holiday season, I thought I would share some of them with you.

In no particular order.

Except maybe this one. 🙂  Jake’s cancer free diagnosis earlier this June. 

My mother who is always there no matter what day or time. For her big heart that she shares with everyone.

My employer for allowing me to work, take care of Jake when I needed to and go back to grad school.

For my brother who is always listening to whatever I have to say.

To all of my friends far and near. I could not have gotten through this year without you all.

For the ability to travel to new and far away places to relax, celebrate and rejoice in all that is good.

For all the books I was able to enjoy this year that transported me to another place.

For God’s infinite wisdom and love.

My professors at Drake who continuously push me to think creatively, and learn the best of the best so that I can be a better person and teacher.

My Joyful Girl readers for wanting to be a part of my life.

My father for always giving me sound/no-nonsense advice when I need it the most.

All of the blogs I read so that I can experience things through them.

My two little boys. For Klaus who likes to wake me up every single morning to let know that it is time to drink from the faucet. For Dietrich who got me to know it is okay to live with cats again although I am allergic and his ability to make me love cats again.

All those dedicated to reasearching cancer helping find drugs to eradicate the illness.

The Internet for allowing me to keep connected with those in my past and those in my present.

For the roof over my head, the food I can put on the table and clothes I can put on my back.

For Faith Lutheran Church’s open and giving community.

For every single nap I was able to take and knowing it was okay.

My mini-meltdowns that make me feel better but also really put things into perspective.

The ability to spend time with little kids so that I can remember that life doesn’t always have to be so serious.

For my husband who can make me smile with one word, laugh with his stories,  weep with his beautiful singing voice, and making every day worth it all.

My healthy body that allows me to exercise and enjoy life to the fullest.

For the ladies I have been able to share my story with hoping they can find some peace in the craziness of it all.

To the mistakes I have made and the lessons that came from them.

For all of Jake’s doctors, nurses and staff to helping him be as comfortable as possible during his chemo treatments.

For the variety of music creative minds put together.

For everyone near and far that supported Jake and I through this year.

I am sure there are more to mention, but these are a few.

I pray that this holiday season everyone has a chance to take a few minutes to really reflect back on what they have and give thanks.

One thought on “Giving Thanks

  1. I am so thankful to have such a beautiful daughter both inside and outside.I am thankful for Jake and his recovery ,for his being a comfort to me as he holds my daughter’s heart and hand.****.NO ONE COULD ASK FOR A BETTER SON-INLAW.
    and for my awesome son……………….who is always there for me………………..(as Libby ) is too..THANKKFUL TO SPEND THANKSGIVING WITH YOU..XO MAMA

Leave a Reply

