February Goals

A new month, a new set of goals.

February is perhaps my favorite month of the year. It may have a little bit to do with it being my birthday month, but I could be wrong. 😉

This year, we are four days in and it has been a whirlwind for sure. But nonetheless, I am hanging in there.

February Goals

1. No fried food February. 

My original thought for this goal was to go the whole month without eating fried foods. Not very easy when you really think about it.  After some contemplation, I decided to modify the goal a little and allow myself to eat fried food once a week. Now this doesn’t mean I will allow myself to eat fried food all day, but maybe something at one of my meals. I am fairly confident that I can handle this goal if I am allowing myself a “cheat day”.

2.  Journaling at least three times a week.   

Confession: I have kept a journal since I was in middle school. Up until a couple of years ago it was fairly consistent. Sure there were a couple of weeks or month spurts when I wouldn’t write anything, but nothing like a two-year hiatus. This week I decided to start a new journal to express and document my experiences through grad school and all the events going on. I strongly believe that getting your private words, thoughts and prayers down on paper is a huge stress reliever and puts things into perspective.

3. Make homemade laundry detergent.

Our gallon of laundry detergent is almost out and so I would like to make our own with this recipe instead of purchasing a pre-made one. 

4. Eat at least four seafood dishes this month.

Growing up I despised seafood.  As I have grown older and wiser, I have grown quite fond of some seafood dishes. Sadly however, we do not make much of them in our house. Jake and I purchased a bag of frozen tilapia awhile back and still have several left. I would really like to make a couple of meals using those, but also make some other favorites that include shrimp and salmon.  

5. Attempt to wash, fold and put away clothes in one seating.

Oh my ongoing struggle with laundry. I love washing it, but the next steps of getting it folded and putting it away is a whole other story. I am notorious for allowing laundry to sit in their baskets for several days at a time before they find themselves where they belong.  While speaking with my friend Michelle the other day, she informed me that she doesn’t even own a laundry basket! I had a really hard time thinking how I would function without one. She told me that as soon as the laundry is done it goes on their bed, is folded and put away. Complete inspiration. I have decided I will attempt to do the same with each load and instead of going into a basket to my living room, they will go directly on our guest bed to be folded and put away.

Jake and I just got back from running errands and now it is time to snuggle up with a hot cup of cocoa and get some homework done!

Happy Saturday! 

2 thoughts on “February Goals

  1. Pingback: Okay Let’s Do This |

  2. Pingback: March Goals |

Leave a comment