A New Year with New Goals

Photo credit

Goodbye 2011, Hello 2012.

Unlike most years, I am sad to see this year go. I had a couple of major events in 2011 that included getting married and being accepted into graduate school at Drake University.

I will be the first to admit that I have never been good with new years resolutions. I always find myself thinking about them, trying to commit for a few weeks, but then give up a month or so into the year.

This year I decided to forgo making any resolutions, but rather make a list of goals that will teach me new things, give me new experiences and make my life better.

There is no rhyme or reason to this list, only the fact that they are goals I hope to achieve in the next 363 days.

Photo credit

2012 Goals

The theme this year to become more organized and proficient in all areas of my life. 

  • Five monthly goals. At the beginning of each month, I will write a blog about that month’s goals. These goals may or may not come from my 2012 list of goals.  Well I started out good, but then ended this after the month of August. With school work, just decided it had to go. 
  • Exercise six days a week. I currently work out six days a week with P90x and plan to continue that regimin into 2012. I have yet to decide if I will go for my 4th round of P90x, purchase P90x2 or find a different work out plan altogether. Success! With the exception of being sick and going to Punta Cana, I was able to achieve this goal! 
  • Wake up by 6:30 each work day. This is going to be tough. This past month I was lucky if I made it out of bed before 7:15. I don’t want to feel rushed in the mornings and allow myself enough time to exercise, get ready and plan for the day. Haha, not a chance this happened. 
  • Grow vegetables and herbs this summer. I unfortunately don’t have the space for a garden but am willing to brainstorm and get creative with using fun techniques such as using planters and gutters to create a little garden space. Success! 
  • Visit the Farmer’s Market at least three times. This past summer was pitiful with only making it once. Success! 
  • Create a system/routine for getting laundry done. I love washing my laundry. It is the folding and putting away that seems to get me down. If anyone has any tips on this one, I am all ears! I tried, I really did. 
  • Drink more water each day. Strive for two Nalgene bottles a day. I go through moments of drinking several bottles of water a day to not drinking any. I need more consistency. Fail. 
  • Plan and eat healthier meals and stick to a grocery budget. Just like most of my goals on this list, I can be really good about this for short periods of time, but then fail other weeks. I want to get into a good routine of how to make this happen every week. Jake and I have a great start to this and really excited about it. 
  • Clear out my closet of clothing I no longer or should no longer be wearing. I have gotten better about this in the past few months, but know I still have a ways to go. I plan to turn all of my hangers in the opposite direction and whatever article of clothing remains facing that way at the end of next year gets the boot. Wish me luck! Success! It sure did feel good to get rid of clothes I know I will never wear again. I was even able to pass them down to some younger girls I know. 
  • Print off all of our wedding pictures and create a photo album.  This just needs to get done. Fail. Although my bestie made the most amazing scrapbook for Jake and I! 
  • Spend less time on the internet on laptop and phone I am addicted to the internet. I am hopeful that this one will easily fall into place once school starts. Fail. 
  • Organize my recipe binder. It is a mess and needs some serious help. Hopefully this will help.  Fail. But I did organize my online saved recipes with the help of Evernote and their new clipper. 
  • Golf at least five times this year. I LOVE to golf, but I bet you didn’t know that because I didn’t go out once this year. Pitiful. I am ashamed to call myself a Lennon. (formerly). Huge major failure. Sad face. 
  • Read a Stephen King book. 11/22/63 Success! And what a great book. 
  • Go a weekend/week without TV. Success! I was able to accomplish this while on a nice little getaway to a friends cabin and while in Punta Cana. 
  • Go a weekend with the internet. Success! A whole week while in Punta Cana
  • Make one new recipe a month and blog about it. Fail. 
  • Complete at least five crafts this year. With the world of Pinterest, this shouldn’t be difficult with coming up with ideas. Fail. I completed a couple, but not as many as I would have liked to. 
  • Dust off my sewing machine and sew at least three new items. Fail. 
  • Learn how to crochet a flower hat. Fail. 
  • Go a month without going to Starbucks. Success! I have actually gone over two months without Starbucks and very happy about this. 
  • Give up Facebook for a week. Fail. 

Couples Goals

  • Try a new restaurant each month. I am SUPER excited for this goal. Jake and I usually have one date night a week but find ourselves eating at the same restaurants. We plan to switch it up by hitting new restaurants that Des Moines has to offer. Suggestions welcome! Fail. 
  • Host a game night. While we did not officially host a game night, we did have a chance to have friends and family over at times and play games. 
  • Have at least three dinner parties. Fail. 
  • Take Jake out on the golf course. We’ve been to the driving range together, its now time to get him out on an actual course. Fail.
  • Revise current budget and pay off credit cards. Jake and I have been working diligently on paying off our debt. Later this month (January), we plan to sit down and go over our current budget and make any necessary revisions to achieve our end goals. Not this year, but we have some big plans ahead that I cannot wait to share! 
  • Plan a trip to Denver. Last year I was fortunate enough to visit Denver twice. Both of those times it was in the winter months, which didn’t allow me an opportunity to enjoy the beautiful summer weather and water activities such as white water rafting. I am hopeful Jake and I will make it out there this summer to enjoy super fun activities and visit our friends and family. Success! Jake and I were able to spend Thanksgiving with my mom and brother this year in the Mile High City. 
  • Plan a trip to Philadelphia I have had the fortune of visiting the East Coast five out of the past six years that my brother Fred has lived there. Philadelphia is an amazing city with so much history and culture to offer. I cannot wait to show Jake this gorgeous city and of course visit my brother. Fail. 
  • Vacation in a place I have never been. Not sure where this will be, but I am open to anything! Punta Cana baby! 

I am extremely excited about 2012 and cannot wait to dive right in to my goals.

What are your goals this year? Any suggestions on ways you stick to your goals? 

5 thoughts on “A New Year with New Goals

  1. Ryan and I paid off all of our credit cards this August and they have stayed at a $0 balance since then. What we did is we went to Wellsfargo took out a three year loan to pay them off. We then made two payments each month and was able to pay off the very large, very irresponsible decisions of our youth in 8 months. It was beyond freeing!! Now we’re onto our student loans.

    Love your goals!

    • Kaci I love your idea and congratulations for getting those cards paid off! Jake and I just decided we are going to make an appointment at our bank this week to see if we can get a good deal on a loan. Whoohoo! I am pretty excited about this!

  2. Cool list of goals!

    I’m in the process of writing a book on goal setting and achievement myself – would appreciate you having a look and giving me any feedback… If you’d be kind enough to fill in the questionnaire there’ll be a free copy of the book for you when it’s published!

    Have a look here: smartgoalsetting.co

    All the best for achieving your goals in 2012!!!!

  3. Pingback: Restaurant Review: Americana |

  4. Pingback: Update from Americana Review |

Leave a comment